Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon || Love in an unexpected arrangement

Title: When Dimple Met Rishi
Author: Sandhya Menon
Standalone
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Slightly warm
Page Count and Format: 320 pages, Ebook
Published: May 30th, 2017 by Simon Pulse
Source: Purchased
My Rating:

4 stars

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.


This was such a cuuuute read! I went into this book with no expectations because I sooo freaking afraid it wasn’t going to live up to my expectations, I didn’t want to get my hopes up despite the raving reviews everywhere. There were ups and downs but in the end, this book won me over and I absolutely fell in love with it!

Dimple wants nothing more in her life than to go to Insomnia Con, a web developing convention which would be judged her by icon this year and when her parents agree, she’s over the moon. Of course, there’s a catch, she finds out she is supposed to meet her “future husband” aka Rishi when she reaches there. Although she wants nothing more than to focus on her career and when they are paired on the same team, they are forced to work together. Dimple finds out Rishi is not so bad either and a friendship is formed between the two which slowly develops into something more. But they are two people on the opposite pole, would love be enough to hold them together?

This book is seriously so cute! The plot was cliched but it was executed perfectly! And so many things were relatable! Dimple Shah has her life figured out, she is so passionate and an independent girl who wants to build a career for herself before anything else. Love and marriage are the farthest thoughts on her mind, unlike her mother who wants her to find the ideal husband. She is bewildered when Rishi comes sauntering in and declaring his eternal love for her. It was seriously hilarious!! And that was an epic entry! XD I couldn’t stop laughing!

The competition in the Insomnia Con was also handled realistically because it showed how most probably things actually would have happened. Dimple’s parents especially her mom sometimes felt too overbearing about the marriage and finding the ideal husband thingy, I know she meant well but sometimes I just wanted her to stop. Thank goodness my family isn’t like that, at all otherwise I would have gone crazy! 😂😂 But I did love how her father encouraged her later on and Dimple’s confidence boosted up.

“It was his damn fool heart. Ever optimistic, always looking for a sliver of sunshine in a sky clotted with thunder clouds.” 

The friendship between Dimple and Rishi evolved with time and I seriously adored them. Rishi was gone from the moment he met Dimple but it took some time for Dimple to see what was really in front of her. Rishi was such a hopeless romantic and I kind of loved that aspect about him but he put his family’s words first instead of his dreams. And even though Dimple encouraged him to face the reality and follow his dreams, I understood where he was coming from because I have been there and unlike him, I didn’t have the luxury to move forward with my dreams (although I am counting on the future…). Rishi was a gentleman and completely swoon-worthy! He was definitely a success in wooing Dimple with his ways and c’mon who wouldn’t with his awkward charm!

The thing with Rishi’s brother,  Ashish and Dimple’s roommate Celia felt too sudden and random. Also, sometimes Dimple’s decision irked me but seriously, Rishi was so patient and understand! Anyway, I loved how the arranged marriage was treated in a positive light.

Overall, When Dimple Met Rishi was a really fun read! I loved how the plot was executed and I fell in love with the characters! I simply loved the romance between Dimple and Rishi and how adooorable they were together! The writing was beautiful and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. I can’t wait to read mooore by this author!!

Recommend it?

Yes!


So, guys what are your thoughts on this book? Did you enjoy it as much as I did or was it just meh for you?

24 thoughts on “Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon || Love in an unexpected arrangement

  1. Beautifully written review! When Dimple Met Rishi is definitely not the sort of book that I would typically pick up, but given all the hype that it’s been receiving I felt as though I had to read it, and I’m sure glad I did. Though overly cliché and artificial at times I really enjoyed the author’s language and descriptions of Indian culture and tradition. It’s such a delightfully charming read and sooooo funny – a perfect summer read.
    I look forward to more posts from you in the future… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a lovely review! I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed this book so much – I thought it was so cute and loved how the relationship developed from friendhsip to more, it was perfect and felt realistic 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved the book too! I was so pleased with all of the Indian aspects of the book because they were so relatable and just everything I needed in a book. ❤ I’m a mix of both Dimple and Rishi’s characters I feel and I really enjoyed the interaction between them. My mother is exactly like that and now that I’ve graduated, she wants me to find an IIH as well. 😂 I gave this one a 4.5 out of 5 and my review is up on my blog if you want to check out my thoughts in depth.
    One thing I noticed is that it’s been getting a lot of negative reviews and many people felt that Dimple was rude and abusive. I didn’t get that at all from the book. One of the reviewers who called her abusive was like “I want to slap this character”, so I was laughing out loud at the hypocrisy in the statement. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

