Review: Just Friends by Tiffany Pitcock || Blog Tour || Where my heart struggled to be only friends

Welcome to my tour stop of Just Friends by Tiffany Pitcock hosted by Xpresso Book Tours. You can view the full tour schedule here.


Title: Just Friends
Author: Tiffany Pitcock
Standalone
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Page Count and Format: 320 pages, Ebook
Published: August 1st 2017 by Swoon Reads
Source: I received an eARC of this book for the blog tour in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating: 

Blurb (from Goodreads):

A new spin on the classic smart-girl-and-bad-boy setup, this witty contemporary romance shows how easily a friendship – even one built on an elaborate lie – can become so much more.

Jenny meets Chance for the very first time when she is assigned as his partner in their Junior Oral Communications class. But after they rescue a doomed assignment with one clever lie, the whole school is suddenly convinced that Little-Miss-Really-Likes-Having-A’s and the most scandalous heartbreaker in school have been best friends forever. It’s amazing how quickly a lie can grow―especially when you really, really want it to be the truth.

With Jenny, Chance can live the normal life he’s always kind of wanted. And with Chance, Jenny can have the exciting teen experiences that TV shows and movies have always promised. Through it all, they hold on to the fact that they are “just friends.” But that might be the biggest lie of all.

Debut author Tiffany Pitcock delivers a spot-on depiction of first love and the high school rumor mill in Just Friends, chosen by readers like you for Macmillan’s young adult imprint Swoon Reads.


Just Friends was one of my most anticipated books for this year. Although I was terrified at the first 5% and thought it wouldn’t meet my expectations but surprisingly in the end it did. I ended up falling in love with this book and Chance and Jenny’s story.

When a class assignment brings Chance and Jenny together, they are both surprised how they are able to create a fake story about both of them in minutes to ace that class. And with the fake story starts their fake friendship which doesn’t take much time to turn into something more. But Chance doesn’t do relationships and Jenny is altogether new to these growing feelings. When fake starts to turn real, what will they do?

The story starts off with Chance and Jenny paired off in a class assignment where they quickly take a different turn and surprisingly their fake story comes out flawlessly. The plot although slightly clichéd was definitely enjoyable. Though I have to admit I did not quite enjoy the first 5-10% of the story because I didn’t like how their friendship started with a fake past when in reality that was the first day they actually talked to each other. But soon enough I found myself falling in love with their story. Their fake friendship slowly turns into a real and strong one which I adored so much. It was clear how much they cared for each other. But the thing that felt off was how everybody believed their fake story so easily, I mean those two characters interact all of a sudden and they tell everybody they have been bffs for life and nobody even bats an eyelash, it was damn unrealistic.

Anyway, both Chance and Jenny were genuine characters but not devoid of flaws. I seriously loooved Chance so freaking much. He went through a lot at home, his parents were constantly fighting and his big brother left him in their mercy. But he didn’t show that part of his life to anyone except Jenny. I loved how much he trusted her to show her that vulnerable part of his life and I loved how Jenny welcomed him to hers. I loved how their story started off as best friends before that feeling turned into something much more. I loved their chemistry together and I sooo wish they would have confessed their actually feelings instead of going round and round about it. Some parts were seriously hilarious and I enjoyed it so much!

But there were a few things I didn’t like about Jenny, she was a great character but sometimes her decision were simply too bad. Somewhere deep down in her heart she knew having a relationship with Drake wasn’t something she wanted but she still went for it when she heard Chance didn’t do relationships. I especially hated the moment when she realised she was in love Chance but instead of talking it out with him, she decided to do the deed the very next moment with Drake (who I didn’t like for a single moment) to get over it. I mean seriously?!! And another thing was how she completely forgot about her actual best friend, Kelsey who had been there for her for years. Kelsey knew how much reserved Jenny was and although she didn’t mind much, I hated the fact that she stopped hanging out with her since Drake and Chance stepped into her life. I seriously loved Kelsey, she was such a great friend and defended Jenny when the whole thing blew up, I seriously need a book about her!

Overall, Just Friends was a great read. The plot was executed neatly and although there were ups and downs in the story, I fell in love with it. I loved Chance and Jenny together so much. But the ending felt rushed, another chapter or an epilogue would definitely had been a great addition. Nonetheless, the writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the whole book. I am definitely looking forward to read more by this author.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Author Bio:

23. Writer. Reader. Sarcastic.

I was born and raised in Arkansas, which isn’t terribly exciting. I’ve wanted to be a writer for as long as I can remember. I used to sit in class and write stories in my notebooks, thinking that everyone did. It turns out, everyone didn’t. I love writing because it means I’m putting my thoughts, feelings, and soul out there for someone else to read – for someone else to feel. The fact that someone can read my words, and empathize with my characters – characters that wouldn’t exist with out me, that I created from my mind – is such a wonderful concept to me. I could happily write for the rest of my life as long as there was one person out there who was affected by my words.

Author Links:

Goodreads || Facebook || Twitter

Purchase Links:

Amazon || B&N || iBooks || Kobo


Giveaway!

Tour-wide giveaway (US/CAN), ends August 10th: Print copy of Just Friends by Tiffany Pitcock.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


So guys, have you picked this up yet? What are your thoughts on this book? Is it in your tbr?

8 thoughts on “Review: Just Friends by Tiffany Pitcock || Blog Tour || Where my heart struggled to be only friends

  1. I literally just came from another blog reviewing this! It’s been getting a ton of buzz! I’ve heard other reviews saying that it was unrealistic that everyone believed their story; I’m surprised that no one questions it! I don’t think I’ll like Jenny that much if I read this book. I I kind of feel bad for Drew, considering he seems to like her a lot more than she likes him. Great review Poulami!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

