Review: Loving Kalvin by Siobhan Davis || Where forgiveness was the key to everything

Title: Loving Kalvin
Author: Siobhan Davis
Series: The Kennedy Boys, book 4 [Can be read as a standalone]
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Trigger Warning: Mention of rape
Heat Rating: Warm
Page Count and Format: 299 pages, Ebook
Expected Publication: July, 2017
Source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Lana
I knew it would end in disaster, but I didn’t listen to reason. I didn’t care. Because I loved him so much.
Kalvin Kennedy ruled my heart.
Until he destroyed it.
Shattered it so completely that I became someone else. Someone I loathed. Someone who repeatedly lied to her loved ones.
So, I ran.
From him. From myself. Desperate to hide my new reality.
But I could only run so far.
When he reappears in my life, I’m terrified. Unbelievably scared of facing the consequences of my actions.
Never mind that I still love him and want him so badly—there’s too much at stake now.
How can I trust him with the biggest secret of all when he’s likely to rip my world apart again?

Kalvin
Lana was always far too good for me. Everyone knew it but her.
I tried to stay away, but I was weak.
And I hurt her.
Crushed her until she barely resembled herself. Forced her to follow a path she would never have willingly chosen.
And then she was gone.
And my world has never felt as empty, as lonely.
She begged me to stay away. Not to find her. To forget she ever existed.
But that’s like asking me to slice my heart in two and toss half aside.
I’ve never believed in fate, but when I rock up to the University of Florida, I’m ready to eat my words.
Because she’s here. Like I hoped she would be. And I’m determined to prove I deserve a second chance.

A friends-to-lovers second-chance romance from USA Today bestseller Siobhan Davis. Standalone with HEA and no cliffhanger.


Oh, I was sooo excited for this book, especially because the glimpses of what we saw of Kalvin and Lana in the Finding Kyler trilogy was tempting enough and this was such a whirlwind ride and I’m glad this book didn’t disappoint.

Even after every thing that has happened, Kalvin decided not to give up on Lana. Lana can’t forgive herself for falsy accusing Kalvin of rape by coming under the influence of Addison. Kalvin understood how far he pushed her to take such a drastic step but the past won’t leave them alone so easily. And when a shocking truth is revealed, will they be ever able to move forward together?

This book was so freaking good! I enjoyed the plot so much. When we got introduced to Lana in the Finding Kyler trilogy, she came forward as a sweet and innocent girl and when she did the horrendous crime of falsy accusing Kalvin of such a major crime like rape, I was enraged. I couldn’t believe my eyes. Even if she did confess in front of the court that she was wrong and she lied, it wasn’t easy to forgive her but Kalvin knew her better than anyone. He knew how much he had hurt her in the past. Kalvin and Lana had a past and when they come face to face again, at first it becomes an awkward/guilt fest before either of them can move forward.

Lana was truly repenting, if even Kalvin forgave her, she couldn’t forgive herself. You can’t help but love Lana, Addison played her well just like she did with Kyler. But after the twist is revealed, I empathised with her more. I could understand where she was coming from but even after all the things that happened, she should have told Kalvin the truth a little earlier. She tried but just couldn’t utter it and I kind of understand that too. I felt bad for her, although she tried her best to make up for what she did, she was constantly attacked and verbally abused, she didn’t deserve that much hate though.

As their story moves forward, more of their past is revealed and anybody would empathise with Lana. Kalvin did a number on her and even after everything, she couldn’t stop loving him. I loved that Kalvin finally wanted to fight for what he wanted and he didn’t give up. They had explosive chemistry and their relationship slowly builds up all over again and the romance was just sooo good!! When the things blow up towards the end, Lana handled everything so maturely and even Kalving followed her lead, I was glad how the ending wrapped up.

Overall, Loving Kavin was a great read. The plot was executed neatly and I loved each and every moment of it though the middle did become a little monotonous sometimes. The chemistry between the two main characters was just everything, I shipped them so much! The writing was smooth and flowed smoothly and the pace was even throughout the book. This book also ended with a glimpse of Saving Brad and I have a feeling it’s going to epic!!! I sooo can’t wait for it!

Recommend it?

Yes!


So guys, have you picked up this series yet? What do you think about this book?

6 thoughts on “Review: Loving Kalvin by Siobhan Davis || Where forgiveness was the key to everything

  1. I’m glad you liked this one Poulami! I haven’t heard of this author or series but am very intrigued. I LOVE second chance romances, and best friends to lovers is a great trope as well. But this one also sounds really angsty, and I don’t know if my heart can take it, lol! Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2017! |

Leave a Reply

