Review: Lucky in Love by Kaise West || Blog Tour || Predictable yet a fun read!

Welcome to my tour stop Lucky in Love by Kasie West hosted by The Fantastic Flying Book Club. You can view the full tour schedule here.


Title: Lucky in Love
Author: Kasie West
Standalone
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 352 pages, Ebook
Expected Publication: July 25th, 2017 by Point
Source: I received an eARC of this book for the blog tour in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

In this new contemporary from YA star Kasie West, a girl who wins the lottery learns that money can cause more problems than it solves, especially when love comes into the picture.

Maddie doesn’t believe in luck. She’s all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment —

She wins!

In a flash, Maddie’s life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she’s talking about renting a yacht. And being in the spotlight at school is fun… until rumors start flying, and random people ask her for loans. Now, Maddie isn’t sure who she can trust.

Except for Seth Nguyen, her funny, charming coworker at the local zoo. Seth doesn’t seem aware of Maddie’s big news. And, for some reason, she doesn’t want to tell him. But what will happen if he learns her secret?

With tons of humor and heart, Kasie West delivers a million-dollar tale of winning, losing, and falling in love.


Lucky in Love is my first Kaise West novel. I’ve been wanting to pick up her books for a long time now and when I got this chance, I didn’t waste the opportunity. This was a fun and light-hearted read and I devoured it in two sittings.

Maddie is someone who believes that anything can be achieved through hard work and dedication and not by luck. She picks up a lottery ticket on a whim and to her surprise, she ends up as the winner. When words get out, everyone starts treating her differently except Seth, her co-worker at the zoo who hasn’t heard the news yet and she likes it just the way it is. When she finds herself falling for him on top of every other problem, will she run or finally face her feelings?

This was such a cute read. Although the plot was predictable, I did enjoy how everything was executed. Maddie is the last person to believe in luck and she can’t believe herself when she wins the lottery. I liked the fact that she wasn’t selfish, her first thought was to get her family out of debts and help her brother which she did as soon as she got the money. Although I didn’t like how her brother’s attitude began changing but he did show hopes of being redeemed. Maddie also starts to get extra attention in school from basically everybody, I can understand how uncomfortable that have been but Maddie did handle everything maturely. I did feel bad for her when her best friends also treated her differently due to which the ending didn’t come as a shock.

Anyway, Maddie was also someone who loved animals and hence the time she spent working at the zoo was one of her absolute favourites. Seth was such a sweet guy, he was the only one who treated her like a normal person. I really wish we had got to see more of him. I enjoyed the romance between Maddie and Seth but I wasn’t blown away by it, I seriously had hoped to see them together for more scenes that we got. Nonetheless, I loved them together, more especially after a certain fact is revealed.

Overall, Lucky in Love was a sweet read. I enjoyed the plot and the characters. I liked the chemistry between Seth and Maddie. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Author Bio:

I write YA. I eat Junior Mints. Sometimes I go crazy and do both at the same time. My novels are: PIVOT POINT and its sequel SPLIT SECOND. And my contemporary novels: THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, ON THE FENCE, THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND, PS I LIKE YOU, and BY YOUR SIDE. My agent is the talented and funny Michelle Wolfson.

Author Links:

Website || Goodreads || Twitter || Facebook

Purchase Links:

Amazon || B&N || Book Depository || Kobo || iBooks


GIVEAWAY!

• 1 ARC of Lucky in Love
• US only
• Follow the tour for more chances to win
• Runs through July 31
• Please read Rules & Regs in Rafflecopter

a Rafflecopter giveaway


So guys, what are your thoughts on this book? Which books have you read so far by this author? Which is your favourite?

16 thoughts on “Review: Lucky in Love by Kaise West || Blog Tour || Predictable yet a fun read!

  1. Great Review, Poulami! I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed this book! I like Kasie West’s books but the last one turned out to be pretty disappointment. I really hope I enjoy this book as much as you did. You should also check out The Fill-In Boyfriend. It’s pretty good and also my favorite Kasie West book. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh I love Kasie West! All of her books are really cute, but a bit predictable. I’m glad you enjoyed this and can’t wait to read it as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Lucky in Love...by Kasie West - The Book return...
  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2017! |

Leave a Reply

