Review: Artificial Sweethearts by Julie Hammerle || Utterly cliched and predictable

Title: Artificial Sweethearts
Author: Julie Hammerle
Series: North Pole, Minnesota, book 2 [Can be read as a standalone]
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 229 pages, Ebook
Expected Publication: July 10th 2017 by Entangled: Crush
Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

It’s not chemistry between Tinka Foster and Sam Anderson that made them agree to fake date. With her parents trying to set her up with an annoying pro-track golf student, and intentionally single Sam’s family pressuring him to bring a date to his brother’s wedding, they could both use a drama-free summer.

So it’s not his muscular arms and quick wit that makes Tinka suggest they tell everyone they’re both taken. Definitely not. And it’s not butterflies that makes a kiss for appearances during the lake party go on way too long—so long that Sam wishes it were real.

But Tinka keeps people at arm’s length—she’s always been second best, even to her parents. And her relationship-for-show could crush everything when she realizes she’s done with fake, pretend, and second-best.

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains bikinis at the lake, a lot of making out in dark theaters, and a meet-cute you’ll read twice.


I didn’t have much expectation for this book but still, I wanted a fluffy and cute read but I got nothing and this book massively bored me too. Anyway, you can read my review of book 1: Any Boy But You, here.

When Tinka comes home for her holidays, she finds her life uprooted as her parents have moved to a totally different place without even telling her for once. Also, she can’t overcome the guilt of the mistakes she did in the past. When her parents try to set her up with a boy of their choice, she quickly takes the closest option available, make Sam Anderson her fake boyfriend. But Tinka always runs when things turn complicated for her, so when her feelings for Sam begins to feel more than fake, what will she do?

The  plot of this book was utterly predictable. I am now losing count on how many fake boyfriend books I’ve read until now and seriously, it is kind of getting boring. But still some books with the same trope manage to surprise me but unfortunately this was not one of them. Sam and Tinka engage in the fake charade to get away from the unnecessary pressure from both of their families but soon the fake feelings begin to feel like real. Like the title, Artificial Sweethearts, this book kind of felt artificial too. I couldn’t feel any chemistry between our two main protagonists, Tinka and Sam and hence I couldn’t enjoy the romance either.

Another thing that I quite didn’t like was how Tinka’s family acted. It’s clear how the death of Tinka’s little brother still affected all of them but instead discussing and taking with Tinka, they chose the other way out. This I-don’t-care family trope really irritates me, I mean, most of the books I read, either the parents are dead or they don’t understand/care about their kids. Seriously, the real world doesn’t function like that!! Not everybody is like that. Anyway, I did like how finally Tinka stood up for herself which finally led to her parents confessing too. But shouldn’t the parents step up first, after all Tinka is just a kid too.

Anyway, I didn’t enjoy the other minor characters much either. Jane was a good friend to Tinka but she was too irritating sometimes and Karen simply didn’t want to give Tinka another chance at all which is understandable because Tinka was the one who messed it up in the first place. Though Tinka redeems herself, I just didn’t care much about her and hence my lack of interest. But I did enjoy how everything was tied up in the end.

Overall, Artificial Sweethearts was a predictable read. The plot was executed neatly but there was nothing new to it. I didn’t care for the characters much either. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book.

Recommend it?

Maybe.


So guys, what are your thoughts on this book? Have you read any other book by this author?

8 thoughts on “Review: Artificial Sweethearts by Julie Hammerle || Utterly cliched and predictable

  1. I’ll be passing on this one! I’ve been getting tired of the fake boyfriend books too. I mean, there’s only so many things that can happen in a book about a fake boyfriend that will make the book stick out from the crowd. Good chemistry will always save a book though if the plot isn’t the best, but the fact that neither of those were stand out is a bummer! Great review though Poulami!! I appreciate your honesty! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

