Review: Steal by Rachel Van Dyken || Blog Tour || Where the characters stole my heart


Welcome to my tour stop of Steal by Rachel Van Dyken hosted by Social Butterfly PR.


Title: Steal
Author: Rachel Van Dyken
Series: Seaside Pictures, book 3 [Can be read as a standalone]
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Adult]
Heat Rating: Warm
Page Count and Format: 283 pages, Ebook
Published: July 2nd, 2017 by Van Dyken Enterprises INC
Source: I received an eARC of this book for the blog tour in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

 

Blurb (from Goodreads):

It’s easy to lose yourself in someone you love.

Easier to lose yourself in someone you hate…

I didn’t think it could get any worse than having to babysit a bunch of spoiled musicians on set ― keeping them out of trouble is a cakewalk compared to seeing my ex every day.

Seaside, Oregon isn’t big enough for the both of us.

She hates me.

I loathe her.

The plan was simple ― stay the hell away and make sure she gets to set on time.

What I didn’t expect was to be faced with our past in front of an audience ― and be forced to face it again.

It’s torture.

The way she looks at me.

The way I try to look through her.

Words left unsaid.

The lingering aftermath still as powerful as ever.

I feed the chasm between us, for fear that she’ll make me feel again ― and steal the last shred of heart I have left.

We have everything but each other.

It’s not enough.

Not when you’ve lost love.

And replaced it with the only thing left ― hate.


Steal was my first Rachel Van Dyken read and I don’t know why I haven’t picked up her books earlier. This book was such a great read and I enjoyed every moment of it.

It’s been a few years since Angelica broke Will’s heart but now she is back in his life. Not as a friend but as his client and although he decided to leave his past behind, he still can’t get her out of his mind. Despite the hatred, they both find themselves finding solace in each other. But when the bitter truth of the past is laid bare, can they ever move forward from that?

It’s easy to lose yourself in someone you love.
Easier still, to lose yourself in someone you hate.

Steal was a second chance romance which is one of my favourite tropes and I enjoyed how it was executed in this book. Will and Angelica used to be crazy about each other but one mistake and their lives are shattered. Will used to be part of a boy band before he became an agent, before his band broke up due to one the member, who used to be his best friend and Angelica may have had a part in that, even though it was unintentional. They finally come face to face but as agent-client. The feelings that they used to have for each other are still there but to get past that, they hurt each other more and more. The chemistry between them was palpable from the very start even though they didn’t want anything to do with each other because of their past.

Tears filled my eyes. And when they spilled over, I realized. I didn’t need him to kiss them away. To catch them. Because I knew who I was. Whose I was.
His.

The characters were extremely flawed and layered and I loved the character growth throughout the book. Angelica tried her best to keep her past mistakes in the past and not let that affect her present but Will did not let her forget that. I really felt Will was too selfish at times. And when the actual truth is revealed, I actually hated Will for playing the victim and putting all the blame on Angelica when he was equally to be blamed. Though Angelica forgave him, I wouldn’t have been able to so easily if I was in her place. Nonetheless, they balanced each other and they were imperfectly perfect for each other.

This book was definitely a heart-wrenching read. I felt so bad for both the characters and how much they were hurting though they were equally balanced with fun and humour. I was satisfied with how everything ended and how everyone was able to make peace with the past. I also loved the other characters in this series, though this book can be read as a standalone but I definitely intend to read the first two books in this series asap, I am especially eager to read Zane’s story.

Overall, Steal was a fantastic read. I loved how the plot was executed and I fell in love with the characters.I loved the romance between Will and Angelica. The writing was beautiful and smooth and the pace was even throughout the book. I can’t wait to pick up her other books!

Recommend it?

Yes.


Author Bio:

Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances. When she’s not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor.

She keeps her home in Idaho with her Husband, adorable son, and two snoring boxers! She loves to hear from readers!

Author Links:

Facebook || Website || Newsletter || Instagram || Twitter || Amazon || Goodreads || Rachel’s Rockin’ Readers

Purchase Links:

Amazon US || iBooks || B&N || Kobo


So, guys what are your thoughts on this book? Have you read any other book by this author? If yes, which one is your favourite?

5 thoughts on “Review: Steal by Rachel Van Dyken || Blog Tour || Where the characters stole my heart

Leave a Reply

