Review: The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo || Heavily disappointing

Title: The Truth About Happily Ever After
Author: Karole Cozzo
Standalone
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 321 pages, Ebook
Published: May 16th, 2017 by Swoon Reads
Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Chin up, Princess, or the crown will slip.

A theme park princess must put her life back together after her happily ever after falls apart in The Truth About Happily Ever After, a contemporary YA romance from Karole Cozzo, author of How to Keep Rolling After a Fall and How to Say I Love You Out Loud.

Everything was supposed to be perfect. Alyssa has a job she loves, working as Cinderella at her favorite theme park; a fantastic group of friends; and a boyfriend who will no longer be long distance. But as the summer progresses, her prince becomes less charming and more distant, and Alyssa’s perfect summer falls apart.

Forced to acknowledge that life is not always a fairy tale, Alyssa starts working to pull her herself back together. Fortunately, she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her friend Miller’s support, she’s determined to prove that she’s more than just a pretty princess. And with his help, maybe she’s finally ready for something better than dreams. Maybe she’s ready for something real.


Karole Cozzo is one of my favourite authors and when I heard she was releasing a new book, I was soo damn excited! Unfortunately, this book let me down pretty badly. Anyway, you can read my review of her other books, How to Say I Love You Out Loud, here and How to Keep Rolling After a Fall, here.

Alyssa has her summer perfectly plan out. She’s going to focus more of her job as a Princess in a theme park along with spending time with her boyfriend who is coming for a visit. But things start going the opposite direction that Alyssa had planned. She could let how things are happening to go on or she could take everything in her hands, now the question is what would she do?

I had so much expectation from this book. Usually, her books grasp you from the very first page but for this book, I struggled to finish it. One of my major problem was I couldn’t connect with the characters at all, and that being mainly Alyssa. Although I did love her dedication towards her work but sometimes it felt she was too overfocused on her relationship, which I think deep down even she knew it wasn’t working. Jake felt superficial from the very start and I knew there was something wrong with him and after the truth comes out, I loathed him.

As the story progressed I hoped something or the other would happen that would make me rethink my rating for this book. But nothing sort of interesting ever happened, the events of this book kind of felt a bit repetitive. Alyssa’s friend, Miller was a great guy and it proved you can find your prince charming where you least expect it, but frankly, I couldn’t see an ounce of chemistry between him and Alyssa. The thing is we don’t really get so much of Miller, just a glimpse here and there and suddenly Alyssa is feeling different towards him and everything just felt completely random.

I did enjoy the ending but it didn’t manage to satisfy me either. The progression of the story was pretty slow throughout the entire book and I was so bored throughout the whole thing though there were some parts which I actually enjoyed. I did want to dnf it at some point too but I somehow managed to trudge through to the end.

Overall, The Truth About Happily Ever After was a disappointing read. Although the plot was executed neatly, it just felt meh and the characters didn’t manage to make it any exciting either though the writing was smooth and easy to read. I hope her next book lives up to my expectations!

Recommend it?

Maybe.


So, guys have you read this book yet? If yes, what were your thoughts about this one? 

3 thoughts on “Review: The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo || Heavily disappointing

  1. I’ve seen lots of mixed reviews on this book. I’m sorry this book turned out to be a disappointment for you. I hate slow paced plots and not connecting with the characters is a total bummer. It seems like something that I wouldn’t enjoy either. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: June 2017! |

Leave a Reply

