Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover (Book + TV Show) || Where the confessions broke my heart

Title: Confess
Author: Colleen Hoover
Standalone
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]
Heat Rating: Warm
Page Count and Format: 320 pages, Ebook
Published: March 10th 2015 by Atria Books
Source: Purchased
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

At age twenty-one, Auburn Reed has already lost everything important to her. In her fight to rebuild her shattered life, she has her goals in sight and there is no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a chance and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is keeping a major secret from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

To save their relationship, all Owen needs to do is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin.


This was such a heartwarming read! And I loved the concept so much! Colleen Hoover’s books haven’t disappointed so far and I hope that continues to happen in the future.

Auburn Reed has only person left in her life that she can call her own but she even doesn’t have the right. In the chaotic mess, she meets Owen, an artist who has a unique way of bringing his creations to life. They are immediately attracted to each other but they both have secrets of their own and if they come out, it could ruin their lives and Auburn can’t take that risk. Will a relationship like theirs ever succeed?

*A little spoilery*

The plot of this book was really unique and interesting! We are gently eased into the story as the secrets are revealed. Auburn has pretty much lost everything, including the love of her life.  The only thing that is holding her in place is her son, A.J but his custody is in his grandmother’s hands and she is not ready to give up on him yet because she considers Audrey unfit for being a mother. My heart went out for Aubrey, she was hardworking and everything she did was for her son and to prove that she was worthy of being a mother that her son deserved. And I hated Lydia (the grandmother or a kind of monster-in-law) for doing everything in her power to keep A.J away from her. I knew she was clinging to the last hope of her younger son but she was a manipulative and viscous woman indeed. Nonetheless, I loved how Auburn was with A.J, she definitely proved how capable she was as a woman and a mother.

“There are people you meet that you get to know, and then there are people you meet that you already know.”

Owen was dreamy. I fell in love with that guy so freaking much. I loved how he used confessions as his muse for his art. It was simply a unique technique. Auburn comes fact to face with Owen when she scores a part time gig at his art show from where their story begins. I love how Colleen Hoover can execute heart-wrenching stories every freaking time and this was no different. Owen and Auburn both had secrets they couldn’t run away from and which could possibly destroy their future yet their attraction and chemistry was undeniable. They resisted the pull they felt for each other but in the end, something like what they had, was inevitable to happen.

“I love you so much.” His voice is breathless and full of fear. “I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.” My tears fall harder at his words. “And I’ll love you forever. Even when I shouldn’t.

But their road was definitely not smooth and lined with hurdles provided by none other than Trey, Lydia’s older son. He was a cop and he took full advantage of his profession. That guy didn’t have an ounce of work ethics and he used it against Owen just to get Auburn all to himself. He was just like his mother. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time and I couldn’t put this book down. Though I kinda did predict how everything would come down as the end neared and I was so relieved and glad when that happened. I was completely satisfied how everything tied up in the end.

Overall, Confess was a great read. The plot was executed neatly and I fell in love with the protagonists. The romance between Owen and Auburn was just awesome! I loved their relationship so much! The writing was beautiful and the pace was even throughout the entire book. I can’t wait to devour more of her novels!

Recommend it?

Yes!


Show name: Confess
Director: Elissa Down
Starring:  Katie Leclerc, Ryan Cooper, Sherilyn FennElliott SmithRocky Myers
Hosted by: Awestruck
No. of Episodes: 7
Release Date: 4th April, 2017
My Rating:
 


This show was a pretty great watch. It was kind of unfortunate that this show only had 7 episodes but this was one of the best adaptations I’ve seen so far and it did the book justice.

There were only a few changes from the book like the time gap and the age of the characters which according to my opinion felt more realistic. And I was very excited to see Katie Leclerc in this show because I love her in Switched at Birth. She portrayed Auburn’s character perfectly, she made up believe the pain that Auburn felt each day was so much real. The actors brought the characters to life and I couldn’t have been more happier with the cast. Ryan Cooper was the perfect Owen and I loved the chemistry between the two main leads. I liked the fact that Lydia’s character in the show was redeemable than she was in the book which added another layer. A.J was great fun to watch too.

Overall, I loved pretty much everything in the show, I just wish it was a little bit more longer. If you guys haven’t seen it yet you should watch it go90 app or in YouTube.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So guys, what are your thoughts on the book as well the show? Have you watched it yet? 

16 thoughts on “Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover (Book + TV Show) || Where the confessions broke my heart

  1. glad you enjoyed both the show and the book ❤ I LOVE Colleen and her work, the book is great and so is the show! I agree and I totally loved Katie and Ryan portraying the characters, they so brought them to life and did such a good job acting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had no idea this book had been adapted into a TV show! I’ve been meaning to read this for ages now, and now I know there’s a TV show as well, I think I might put it on my TBR for next month. As always, great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG!! I agree with you in all levels.. Owen is dreamy and a real great catch! That selfless act he did for Auburn’s ex-bf was so heartmelting, I cried so much after reading the book. And the show, too, I can’t get enough of Ryan Cooper! Yes, it’s one of the books that was beautifully translated into series and I’m not even complaining with the minor changes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved this book when I read it! It was so beautiful. I’m glad you liked it too. Also – totally didn’t know it was a TV show WHAT! I must watch it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: June 2017! |

Leave a Reply

