Review: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare || Where the characters were imperfectly perfect

Title: Lady Midnight
Author: Cassandra Clare
Series: The Dark Artifices, book 1
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Slightly warm
Page Count and Format: 698 pages, Paperback
Published: March 8th, 2016 by Simon & Schuster Children’s UK
Source: Purchased
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

Glitz, glamours, and Shadowhunters abound in this heartrending opening to Cassandra Clare’s Dark Artifices series.


Soo, I successfully stalled for nearly a near to start reading Lady Midnight. Because of my newly formed binge reading habit, I find it’s better to read a series at once rather than wait a year to read the next one. Although I have to wait another year for the 3rd book, I somehow have to manage. For now, let’s jump into this review, shall we?

This book was such an epic read!! Cassandra Clare never fails to surprise me and I am falling more and more in love with the Shadowhunter universe as each day passes. We already got a glimpse of Emma and Julian in the last book of The Mortal Instruments series and I was super excited to read their story and I’m glad my expectations were met.

Emma’s parents died during the dark war with Sebastian Morgenstern leading everybody to believe he was responsible for their death but Emma never quite believed so, especially because of their manner of death. Now, after five years later, similar kinds of deaths are resurfacing and the targets are not only humans but also faes. After the dark war and the faes’ betrayal which led to the treaty of the Cold Peace, the shadowhunters are forbidden to do anything with the faes but when the faes return Mark, the Blackthorn’s older brother as a bargaining chip, Emma and Julian are forced to make a decision against their law. And to make matters complicated, the feelings between the two parabatais have started to blur. Will Emma be able to handle everything and take her revenge which she longed for so many years?

The plot was unique and it didn’t fail to surprise me on numerous occasion. We are taken on a wild ride from the very first page. Returning to the Shadowhunters universe was one of the best feelings ever. Five years ago, the dark war took Emma’s parents and since then her only motto has been to avenge her parents’ death. After five years of nothingness, similar kinds of murders incite Emma to start looking into the deaths. Despite learning about fae deaths among the humans, Emma doesn’t back away and Julian is always there by her side, to protect her. One clue led to another, and I couldn’t put this book down.

“Laws are meaningless, child. There is nothing more important than love. And no law higher.”

I loved the all the characters in this book so freaking much! Emma and Julian were just adorable. Emma was simply badass! She was feisty and sassy while Julian always stayed by her side, he was the complete opposite to Emma yet if anything happened to her, or if she was in danger, Julian would be the first one to shield her against any kind of trouble. Despite loving the concept of Parabatai (I am definitely eager to know more backstory behind it) I couldn’t help but think it as a curse in Emma and Julian’s case. Well, technically, it kind of is if that line is crossed and Emma and Julian crossed that line for more than once in this book which was quite surprising, not because of them but because the author doesn’t usually take this path so soon. Anyway, they couldn’t be more perfect for each other, they balance each other and their understanding was on a totally different level.

“A gentle boy with a gentle soul, but every soul contains its own opposite, and the opposite of gentleness was ruthlessness—the beautiful wreckage of mercy.”

Julian was the sweetest, after his parents’ death and Mark being taken away while Helen was thrown out, he had to take the role of the parent and damn, he did a fantastic job. The only downside was that he forgot to take care of himself and although Emma was there but he took a great burden upon his little shoulders. But I loved family aspect of this book, the sibling love, how each of them took care of one another which leads me to the amazing representation of Autism. Ty, one of Julian’s younger siblings suffer from it and it was one of the most accurate representations ever.

“There was beauty in the idea of freedom, but it was an illusion. Every human heart was chained by love.”

Mark, I am still wary of that guy. I mean after getting being taken by the Wild Hunt for so long, he is a totally different person. He takes a lot of time to adjust to being a wholesome shadowhunter again and his love for his siblings was there, it never went away despite his being away. He definitely was an intriguing as well as a diverse character and I am eager to know more about him. The other secondary characters were fun to read about too, I loved Christina and Malcolm, the high/resident warlock was an interesting character as well.

“Some betrayals cannot be forgiven.”

The plot twist was quite shocking, though we are eased into it still the betrayal felt heavy on the heart. But the thing that was the hardest about the ending was Emma’s decision. It was cruel but necessary but I waaaant my shipty ship to sail!! I want Emma and Julian together! I also enjoyed seeing my favourite characters from TMI series in this book, it was an added bonus! The epilogue introduced us to our next villain and although it was a bit cliche I loved it, I can’t wait to see what the next book has in store for us.

Overall, Lady Midnight was a fantastic read! I loved how the plot was executed and the twists and turns kept me engaged throughout the book. I fell in love with the characters and I can’t wait to read more about them, the Parabatai curse is another thing that I’m very interested to read about in Lord of Shadows. The writing was beautiful and it was fast-paced.

Recommend it?

Yes!!


So guys, what are your thoughts on this book? Have you read any other book by this author? If yes, which book has been your favourite so far?

12 thoughts on “Review: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare || Where the characters were imperfectly perfect

  1. I’m so happy you loved it Poulami. I adore Emma she is a female Jace and I’ve a fondness for Mark. I’m busy reading Lord of the Shadows right now 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great review, Poulami! I completely agree with everything you said and I gave Lady Midnight four stars as well. I haven’t read Lord of Shadows yet, but I plan to very soon. I’m almost nervous to start the second book because of how Lady Midnight ended, but I really hope that by the end of this series Julian and Emma get a happily ever after with each other!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes yes yes!! I loved this book so much as well! Emma and Julian were so amazing and AGH the heartbreak!! I still haven’t picked up Lord of Shadows yet ahah I hope you enjoy that one when you read it! Waiting 2 years for the third book is going to be so harddd *cries* ❤ Lovely review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Review: Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare || Which left me utterly heartbroken |

Leave a Reply

