Review: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson & Robin Wasserman || Simon, histories and more Simon!

Title: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy
Author: Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson & Robin Wasserman
Series: The Mortal Instruments
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Format: 672 pages, Ebook
Published: November 15th, 2016 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Source: Purchased
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Simon Lewis has been a human and a vampire, and now he is becoming a Shadowhunter. The events of City of Heavenly Fire left him stripped of his memories, and Simon isn’t sure who he is anymore. So when the Shadowhunter Academy reopens, Simon throws himself into this new world of demon-hunting, determined to find himself again. Whomever this new Simon might be.

But the Academy is a Shadowhunter institution, which means it has some problems. Like the fact that non-Shadowhunter students have to live in the basement. At least Simon’s trained in weaponry—even if it’s only from hours of playing D&D.

Join Simon on his journey to become a Shadowhunter, and learn about the Academy’s illustrious history along the way, through guest lecturers such as Jace Herondale, Tessa Gray, and Magnus Bane. Written by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman, these moving and hilarious short stories are perfect for the fan who just can’t get enough of the Shadowhunters.


I picked this book up as soon as I had finished with City of Heavenly Fire but after reaching chapter 5 or 6, I stopped because I had to catch up on arcs. So, this year before starting Lady Midnight I decided to re-read the book including the chapters I hadn’t read and oh my! Once again, the experience was totally different. I quite enjoyed reading this book than I had the first time! You can also read my review of The Infernal Devices, here and The Mortal Instruments, here.

*Spoilers!*

When presented with the choice of one of them has to die in order to return back to Earth from the demon realm, Simon offers himself him. His vampire part of him wipes away along with his memories. Simon has been feeling that a part of him is missing and when he learns the truth, he decides to head on to this new adventure of becoming a Shadowhunter.

The plot follows Simon’s adventure as he embarks on a journey to become a Shadowhunter. At first, if anybody would’ve said the two words: Simon and Shadowhunter together I would definitely have laughed it off but after all the six books and his tremendous character growth, I have to admit that he would be one of the best Shadowhunters ever! ❤ Anyway, this book focused on a lot of things other than Simon as well. We got to know a lot of history about the Shadowhunters too. Some of them were okay and some were really pretty interesting, my favourite one was about the Lost Herondale and how it was narrated by two people and how much their perspectives differed. It proved that there was always two sides to every story.

My most favourite stories were the last three. The parabatai ceremony was absolutely beautiful and it gave us a glimpse of the The Dark Artifices. But the one that I most enjoyed was when Alec and Magnus came to the Institute and Maryse Lightwood got caught up in full-on grandma fever! It was so hilarious!! I absolutely understood Magnus’s decision not to get married right now and how Alec understood and respected it and their decision to start a family with the lost warlock child whether married or not was just everything! Those two couldn’t be more perfect for each other. ❤

“We all change the world, with every day of living in it,” Magnus said. “You just have to decide HOW you want to change the world.”

Simon was a little different, I can’t blame him. He went through a lot and lost his memories as well. There were a lot of expectations which ultimately created a lot of pressure for him but sometimes, I just to punch him! He wanted to convey his feelings in a different manner but the wrong things popped out of his mouth (I can relate!). I definitely loved how he finally embraced the reality and decided to be the best he possibly could.

“Izzy -I don’t know why you’d wait for me, but if you do, I promise to make myself worth that wait. Or I’ll try. I can promise I am going to try.”

One of the perks of being a Shadowhunter was he would finally get is memory back but he wanted to be worthy how he was. I couldn’t stop adoring him! I absolutely loved the character growth in this book too!

The other minor characters were pretty interesting. At first, Jon Cartwright was insufferable but slowly, he warmed up to me. I mean, he was kinda like Jace but was totally different too. All in all, he became an ally of Simon in the end. I absolutely loved George! He was sooo adorable and he was also the kind of brother Simon never had. His death was soo unpredictable and it gutted me! I became all teary eyed when Simon finally took Lovelace as his Shadowhunter name in memory of George.

Overall, Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy was a great read! I enjoyed all the stories and how they flowed in a perfect unison. I adored the characters to death. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. I’m so glad I decided to read this one before starting Lady Midnight because this book was worth it.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So guys, what are your thoughts on this book? Have you read it or did you directly skip to Lady Midnight?