Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas || An Epic tale of politics, intrigue and romance

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, book 3
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Retelling, [New-Adult]
Heat Rating: Warm
Page Count and Format: 699 pages, Paperback
Published: May 2nd, 2017 by Bloomsbury Childrens Books
Source: Purchased
My Rating:

 

Blurb (from Goodreads):

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.


This book was a blast!! I had so many emotions, I laughed, I cried, I swooned, basically, it was a whirlwindy ride and I couldn’t put the book down! You can read my review of book 1: A Court of Thorns and Roses, here and book 2: A Court of Mist and Fury, here.

*Majorish Spoilerish!*

After everything went downhill when Tamlin sold them off to Hybern to get Feyre back, she is forced to return to the Spring Court with Tamlin and Lucien but keeps her facade on of being on their side. Too much, too soon, she becomes face to face with too many dangers, and she is sure of one thing, a war is coming. A big one. She is ready to defend her home or matter what or die trying.

“Night Triumphant – and the Stars Eternal.
If he was the sweet, terrifying darkness, I was the glittering light that only his shadows could make clear.”

This book was seriously EPIC!! So many freaking things happened. The plot kept me engaged from the very first page until the last. After Tamlin’s ambush which led to Feyre’s sisters turning into Feys against their will, Feyre only wants revenge for what he did to her family. And by family, not only her sisters but selling the whole of Prythian into the hands of Hybern. I absolutely loved seeing another side of her and how she manipulated Tamlin’s soldiers and his people against him, not that he wasn’t to be blamed for his actions, he absolutely deserved what he got.

“What we think to be our greatest weakness can sometimes be our biggest strength.”

I am someone who doesn’t enjoy politics much, but I have to vastly defer in this case. The politics, the intrigue were absolutely mind-blowing and I was continuously on the edge of what was going to happen next. This book did a fairly great job of maintaining a certain amount of mystery which made this book unpredictable and which is something I absolutely loved.

The family aspect of this book continued to amaze me. I loved how much Mor, Cassian, Azriel and of course Rhysand were a family to each other and comrades later. Rhysand and Feyre were so amazing! I loved them even more in this book and the romance between them was explosive as hell!

“I see all of you, Rhys. And there is not one part that I do not love with everything I am.”

Also, Nesta and Elain were definitely another interesting aspects in this book. I loved the fact that things finally became the way it was supposed to be between Feyre and Nesta, although not fully but it was a start. I seriously didn’t expect that blow from Elain in the battlefield but it was kickass and also how afterwards Nesta finished the job! Simply mind-blowing.

The only one negative aspect of this book, which I felt was that the middle portion dragged a bit. And it started to feel that the main execution of the war would fall short but I am glad I was proved wrong. I admit, I kind of wanted a bit more action from Feyre in the actual war but overall, it was simply devastating (in a good way!) and executed perfectly! Tamlin’s change of side didn’t make me forgive him, in fact when the actual meeting started before the war, I didn’t loathe him more in that one particular moment when he understands Feyre’s truth and that was also the moment I loved Rhysand the most and how he defeated his mate as well as his High Lady’s honour.

“I blinked at my mate. Then grinned, not bothering to hide the savagery within it. “Hybern has no idea about the hell that’s about to rain down upon them, do they.” “Here’s to family reunions,” was all Rhys said.

Everything came down to the war. They were facing Hybern, who were undefeatable especially with the help of the Cauldron. Although with so many allies and a few of their hidden weapons, they still fell short. There were a few moments my heart nearly gave out, especially in the one where I thought I would lose Cassian for real. Amren kinda reminded me of Calypso (from Pirates of the Caribbean) and with the stunt, she pulled but I was so happy for everyone in the end and my heart soared with joy when the unexpected allies rolled in. Feyre’s story may have come to an end but I am definitely up to know more about Nesta and Cassian. There was undeniable chemistry between them and I definitely hope to see more of them in the future. Also, Elain and Lucien are on my list too! Ah, basically I want books for every character!! ❤

Overall, A Court of Wings and Ruin was a fantastic read! I couldn’t get enough of it. The plot waas executed neatly and the characters kept me on my toes. I loved the character developement and the romance between Feyre and Rhysand. There were so many amazing aspects of this book. The writing was beautiful and smooth and it was fast-paced throughout the book! I can’t wait to read more books in this series!!

Recommend it?

Duh. Yes!


So guys, what are your thoughts on this book? Did you love it as much as I did or was it just meh for you?