Review: I’m Not in the Band by Amber Garza || Refreshingly cute!

Title: I’m Not in the Band
Author: Amber Garza
Standalone
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 279 pages, Ebook
Expected Publication: June 12th, 2017 by Entangled: Crush
Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

 

Blurb (from Goodreads):

I like Kassidy Milton. There, I said it. She’s funny, beautiful—even though she doesn’t know it—and my favorite kind of weird. But I can’t tell if she’s into me or just trying to get close to me for a chance with my famous twin brother instead. I mean, it has to be me. I am the better-looking one.

But Kassidy has some demons, and she’s not good at letting people in. That happens when you’ve been hurt by someone close to you. I can relate. Trust is a funny thing; it’s hard to gain but easy to lose. I might just learn that the hard way.

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book includes a snarky heroine, a swoon-worthy hero, crazy best friends, your favorite music, and lots of feels.


This book was a really sweet read and what I was in the exact mood for.

Archer is always foreshadowed by his twin, Ross who is the lead singer of The Playlisters. He can’t believe a girl like Kassidy can actually like him and not get swept up by his brother. But Kassidy has some issues she’s not ready to share with Archer yet despite their mutual attraction and Archer has been deceived before. Will it be too late when they both realise trust is a two-way street?

This book was pretty fun and refreshing. I love a rock-star romance but this one actually included the brother, a twin even, of the rockstar as the main lead which was actually pretty enjoyable. Archer has always lived in the shadow of his brother and plenty of girls have tried to get close to him in the hope of knowing his brother, even his crush. So when Archer’s path crosses with Kassidy at The Playlisters concert, he is pretty surprised to find a non-fan who had only come to the concert because of her best friend. I enjoyed the friendship between them but it was pretty clear they both had trust issues. Nonetheless, I loved the romance between them but I wanted more!

I understood Archer’s self-doubt about whether Kassidy wanted to be his real friend or was in just like the other girls but sometimes it went too far, even felt a little whiny. Kassidy’s issue was really a serious one and I was glad how she was able to forgive herself in the end. I definitely enjoyed the character development throughout the whole book. The minor characters were interesting to read about as well, especially Archer’s best friend.

Overall, I’m Not in the Band was a good read. The plot was neatly executed and I enjoyed the characters. I loved the chemistry between Archer and Kassidy. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So guys, what do you think about this book? Has it peaked your interest yet or is it already in your tbr?

6 thoughts on “Review: I’m Not in the Band by Amber Garza || Refreshingly cute!

  1. I remember eyeing this book on NetGalley only to find out that I can’t request it. Since I don’t live in the US. Dam it. I’m dying to read this book after reading your review. 😭😭

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

