Review: A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard || Adorable with a splash of realism

Title: A Quiet Kind of Thunder
Author: Sara Barnard
Standalone
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Slightly warm
Page Count and Format: 320 pages, Paperback
Published: January 12th, 2017 by Macmillan Children’s Books
Source: Purchased
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Steffi doesn’t talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can’t hear, but he can listen.
Their love isn’t a lightning strike, it’s the rumbling roll of thunder.

Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life – she’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to look after him. To Rhys, it doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk, and as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.

From the bestselling author of Beautiful Broken Things comes a love story about the times when a whisper is as good as a shout.


This book was beautiful. I have never read a book like this before and after reading the blurb I couldn’t wait to read this and I’m glad it didn’t disappoint. Also, I love sign language since I was a kid and I was also watching Switched at Birth along with reading this, so all of these together was a different but great ride. (I managed to learn figure lettering along with a few other signs!! Yay!)

“I want the world, I think. Even if it scares me.”

Steffi is a seventeen-year-old and a selective mute. Her voice comes and goes depending on her social anxiety. Then she meets Rhys, a new student in their school, he is deaf but he doesn’t let that aspect control his life. She is finally able to open up to someone which does not include her best friend. With Rhys, her little world grows bigger. But life is not a piece of cake. When they finally have to face the ultimate challenge in their relationship, will the move forward together or will their world scatter once again?

This was the first book I read by this author and I absolutely fell in love with it. This book covered various issues like social anxiety, first love and sex and each of them were dealt realistically. I wasn’t much aware of selective mutism, which is a part of anxiety and when everything becomes too much to handle, even little things, no words come out of the mouth. This is not deliberate, the person suffering from this has no choice at all. This book helped me understand it.

“Here are three separate but similar things: shyness, introversion and social anxiety. You can have one, two or all three of these things simultaneously. A lot of the time people think they’re all the same thing, but that’s just not true. Extroverts can be shy, introverts can be bold, and a condition like anxiety can strike whatever kind of social animal you are.

Lots of people are shy. Shy is normal. A bit of anxiety is normal. Throw the two together, add some brain-signal error – a NO ENTRY sign on the neural highway from my brain to my mouth perhaps, though no one really knows – and you have me.”

THIS. Couldn’t be any more true.

Steffi, our main protagonist suffers from it and due to which she mostly stays isolated in her own world. The only person she is able to talk to freely is her best friend but with her gone to uni, she is totally alone until Rhys comes along. With Rhys, she finally finds a whole new world. I loved Steffi so much, and during the moments her world collapsed, I just wanted to give her a tight hug. I felt for her and what she continuously went through every single day.

Rhys is deaf, but he lives like any other normal person. He helps Steffi come out of her shell. He was super adorable and understanding. Their friendship quickly turns into something more and I loved them together, so much. Steffi knew a little BSL and it helped hr communicate with Rhys. Although Rhys strives to have a normal life, he is not bound without insecurities and my heart broke to see how much even a little thing could turn your life upside down.

The other minor characters were well written and I enjoyed reading about each and every character. I also enjoyed the character development throughout the book. One thing that felt too familiar was Steffi and Rhy’s running away for an adventure, that felt too similar to what happened in Everything, Everything. Also, I wanted the ending to be slightly different but it didn’t bother me that much because I was satisfied with the ending.

Overall, A Quiet Kind of Thunder was a great read. The plot was executed neatly and I fell in love with the characters. Steffi and Rhys were just perfect for each other and I loved the romance. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. I am definitely looking forward to reading more by this author.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So guys, what are your thoughts on this book? Have you read this or is it in your tbr?