Daydreaming Discussions: Reading multiple Books at a Time!

daydreaming discussions

Hey there guys! Welcome to Daydreaming Discussions. This is a monthly feature created by me where I discuss anything bookish related or sometimes it might be about any non-bookish things as well. Also, be prepared for a lot of ramblings and rantings and you’re very welcome to be a part of the discussion.

Today I wanted to talk about-

So, I have developed a habit of reading multiple books at a time. When I started blogging, I saw so many people reading 2-3 books at a time, some even 5, so definitely that was quite shocking as well as surprising. I couldn’t even imagine how some people could read so many books at a time and I was like:

Okay, so not this dramatic but oh well sometimes I quite can be…. But that’s a discussion for some other time. Or maybe not. 🙂

If you had asked me about this five years ago, my answer would have been oh hell no! But my perspective has changed over the years. Now, I can easily accommodate 3 books at a single time, sometimes even squeeze in a fourth one. I mostly read one paperback along with 1 or 2 e-books. A few days ago I was discussing this with my friends in college and their reaction was something like this:

tumblr_noqcsiGNIt1u7zqzwo1_500

 

And I was like ding ding ding… new discussion topic(ing!).

Yeah. I know. -.-

Anyway, list most of my discussion posts, this will have a pros and cons list as well. So here goes,

Pros-

🔹 First of all, I’m a very moody reader, I love fantasy and science fiction but in the midst of the death and drama, I sometimes need a little break or two and that’s where a second or third book comes in.

🔹 There are times I need to finish a review copy but I am not feeling like it, so adding another book alongside that works wonders for me. It kind of gives me the necessary break from that book so that I end up enjoying both of them!

🔹 When a book fails to hold my attention, I put it down and gorge one or two others before picking it up, or sometimes I read a chapter of that book along with the other books if I really want to finish that one and yup, I’m in the end before I know it.

🔹 It saves time. Duh! When you have a HUGE tbr pile like mine, reading multiple books at a time helps to catch up with that enormous pile of books just sitting there waiting and calling your name…

Cons-

🔹 One (and only) of the major setbacks of reading multiple books at the time is when you have got a brain of a squirrel! Sometimes when I read a book and jump to the next one, the information tends to mash up which leads to utter chaos and confusion. Oh well, you get what I mean.

But seriously, there are quite simple methods to solve this one, if you go through the same problem like me (which I tend to forget 99% of the time… but shush!)

🔹 Make notes while reading.

🔹 Or you can also read one chapter at a time. It helps to remember things more clearly. But hey… when have you seen us bookish people just leave it at one chapter?

You guys know what, this post should have been up an hour ago but I was searching Supernatural gifs which led me to Pinterest and then…. I got lost! And before you guys ask any questions regarding this, I’ll just leave this here…


So guys, what are your thoughts on this matter? Do you love reading multiple books at a time or prefer to give your full attention to a single book?