Review: Don’t Kiss the Messenger by Katie Ray || Where I have a love-hate relationship with a book

Title: Don’t Kiss the Messenger
Author: Katie Ray
Standalone
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 285 pages, Ebook
Expected Publication: April 10th 2017 by Entangled: Crush
Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

For most of her teenage life, CeCe Edmonds has been dealing with the stares and the not-so-polite whispers that follow her around Edgelake High. So she has a large scar on her face—Harry Potter had one on his forehead and people still liked him.

CeCe never cared about her looks—until Emmett Brady, transfer student, and football darling, becomes her literature critique partner. The only problem? Emmett is blindsided by Bryn DeNeuville, CeCe’s gorgeous and suddenly shy volleyball teammate.

Bryn asks CeCe to help her compose messages that’ll charm Emmett. CeCe isn’t sure there’s anything in his head worth charming but agrees anyway—she’s a sucker for a good romance. Unfortunately, the more messages she sends and the more they run into each other, the more she realizes there’s plenty in his head, from food to literature. Too bad Emmett seems to be falling for the wrong girl…

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book involves one fiercely scarred girl who wants the new guy in town, the new guy who thinks he wants the new girl, and the new girl who really isn’t sure what she wants, and the misunderstanding that brings them all together. You’ll laugh, you’ll swoon, you’ll fall in love.


This book messed with my emotions. I loved it, even hated it sometimes and I pretty much struggled to rate it. Although this book was frustrating, I did end up enjoying it.

Cece’s life has never been the same after the accident left her with a permanent scar on her face. Emmett is the first guy in a while who sees Cece for who she is but just like everybody, Bryn, the new girl in Cece’s volleyball team catches his eye. Cece agrees to be the fake messenger between Bryn and Emmett leading him to believe all the text and emails are from Bryn. But soon enough, Cece is falling head over heels in love with Emmett. It’s up to her to decide if she wants to remain behind the facade or confess her feelings for him.

Although the plot of this book was clichéd, I enjoyed the execution. I think I would have enjoyed it more if the plot hadn’t been so similar to one my favourite Bollywood movie (Mujhse Dosti Karoge). After Bryn is unable to say anything witty or charming to Emmett’s messages, she persuades Cece who reluctantly agrees to be the secret messenger between them. What starts as one simple reply develops into something much more over the period of time they spend talking to each other.

Cece is someone who stays away from the emotional stuff after her accident which left her with a permanent scar on her face. I could somewhat empathize with her because although not quite the same, I suffer from body image issues as well. And when Emmett actually understands her for what she is, she can’t stop the facade of hiding behind someone else because it’s the only way she could make Emmett look at her as he looks at Bryn. But I don’t know why she agreed to be the messenger between them in the first place and even after continuously getting hurt, why she didn’t stop. I kind of understood what the heck was going on but it frustrated me to no end, she should have come out with the truth way earlier.

Another thing that I felt angry and frustrated with was Emmett. He understood Cece so well yet he couldn’t decipher it was she who was behind the texts and the emails. I think he didn’t want to and I definitely agreed with Cece’s thoughts in this matter. And Bryn, oh my god, this girl was so superficial. She was not a really bad person but I have to say, she definitely was a crappy friend, unlike Tuba. I loved Tuba’s character, she is a true and loyal best friend that Cece could ever have and I loved continuous push that finally helped Cece to confess everything. But I wish we got more of Cece and Emmett together, it doesn’t happen until 75% of the book, which was disappointing.

Ultimately, I think I have a love-hate relationship with this book. I enjoyed the plot and the characters but there were equally negative factors as well. Nonetheless, I loved the writing, it was smooth and beautiful and the pace was even throughout the book.

Recommend it?

Yes. (At your own risk!)


So guys, what do you think about this book? Do you want to give this a try? Or is it already in your tbr?

6 thoughts on “Review: Don’t Kiss the Messenger by Katie Ray || Where I have a love-hate relationship with a book

  1. Oh I’m sorry to hear you only half-enjoyed this book- I have read the Awaken series by the same author and really enjoyed it so I have been thinking about trying that one as well. I will at my own risk then aha 🙂 Thank you for this review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

