Review: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver || Where I kept falling…

Title: Before I Fall
Author: Lauren Oliver
Standalone
Genre: Contemporary-Fantasy, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 496 pages, Paperback
Published: February 7th 2017 by Harper Collins (first published March 2nd 2010)
Source: Purchased
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

What if you had only one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all: the world’s most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life.

Instead, it turns out to be her last.

Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact. Reliving her last day during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.


Before I Fall was a refreshing read which continued to surprise me till the very end. Also, this is kind of the very first book of which I preferred the movie-tie-in edition rather than the original one.

Samantha or Sam is one of those popular high-school students who has it all from close best friends to the hottest boyfriend. But everything changes on February 12. i.e. Cupid Day which proves fatal for her. But she wakes the up the next day and the day after tomorrow reliving her last day. It is up to Sam to figure out how to stop this circle of events before everything spins out of control.

“Maybe you can afford to wait. Maybe for you there’s a tomorrow. Maybe for you there’s one thousand tomorrows, or three thousand, or ten, so much time you can bathe in it, roll around it, let it slide like coins through you fingers. So much time you can waste it.
But for some of us there’s only today. And the truth is, you never really know.”

The plot of this book was unique and refreshing. It was also quite addicting and I couldn’t put it down! Sam is one of the mean popular girls who along with her charade of best friends rules over the school. At first, I absolutely hated Sam, no I actually loathed her. She is one of those people with whom I would never be friends in real life. Due to this fact, I was afraid I would end up disliking this book but I liked her character growth. After a couple of pages in I started liking her when she begins to change, when she actually begins to understand life.

Reliving one’s last day over and over again was a pretty interesting concept (It reminded me of that trickster episode in Supernatural where Dean dies over and over again). I was very eager to see how each day spanned out and they managed to surprise me every time. Each day was so different from the other, while one was rather cringe-worthy, my favourite was the one when she stayed back and spend the day with her sister. It was simply the best.

Although I loved that Sam had such a close knit group of friends yet she never confronted Lindsay, not when it actually mattered. One can only that the circumstances that lead to the ending could bring some changes in them. I really, really thought the ending was going to be different but it threw me off the tracks and there I was… a total mess. Anyway, I absolutely adored Kent, I wish we got to see some more of him rather than the sleazy and douche bag boyfriend of hers.

“Here’s another thing to remember: hope keeps you alive. Even when you’re dead, it’s the only thing that keeps you alive.”

Overall, Before I Fall was an interesting read. I finished it in a few sitting and I quite enjoyed the plot. The characters were redeemable and in the end, they crept up to my heart. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. I have not seen the movie yet but I definitely will soon enough.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So guys, have you read this book yet? Was it a hit or miss for you? Or is it still in your tbr? Have you guys seen the movie? How many of you are still waiting to watch like me?

19 thoughts on “Review: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver || Where I kept falling…

  1. I read this book a while ago, but still haven’t watched the movie. So you’re not alone there 😛
    I totally agree with your review, though. It’s a great book, and a good way of handling this sort of story, even though it’s been done in a fair few books and movies.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just finished this one myself and enjoyed it…but I didn’t love it.
    I really disliked Sam’s character–which is kind of the point I think–but she never won me over either. I think the biggest reason why is that she never confronts the situation in a constructive way. I think I wanted a big lesson learned moment and for me we didn’t get it (and if the ending was the attempt at that, I’m no sure if I like it).
    Loved Kent though. He was a highlight for me!
    I’m eager to see what they do in the movie because there is so much potential!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to hear you really liked this!! I read the book SO long ago that I don’t remember too much of it. I still haven’t seen the movie yet, just like you! I’m hoping to see it soon though. 🙂 Lovely review, Poulami!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent review Poulami! I’ve read Delirium but I was so mad with the second book I never finished the series. She is a great writer but I hate love triangles.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great Review! I haven’t read any book by Lauren Oliver but I’ve heard great things about her books. This book sounds interesting and thrilling. I’m glad you loved it! Maybe I should give her books a try! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2017! |

Leave a Reply

