Review: A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

Title: A Crown of Wishes
Author: Roshani Chokshi
Series: The Star-Touched Queen, book 2 [Can be read as a standalone]
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 352 pages, Ebook
Expected Publication: March 28th, 2017 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Source: I received an eARC of the book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Gauri, the princess of Bharata, has been taken as a prisoner of war by her kingdom’s enemies. Faced with a future of exile and scorn, Gauri has nothing left to lose. Hope unexpectedly comes in the form of Vikram, the cunning prince of a neighboring land and her sworn enemy kingdom. Unsatisfied with becoming a mere puppet king, Vikram offers Gauri a chance to win back her kingdom in exchange for her battle prowess. Together, they’ll have to set aside their differences and team up to win the Tournament of Wishes—a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor.

Reaching the tournament is just the beginning. Once they arrive, danger takes on new shapes: poisonous courtesans and mischievous story birds, a feast of fears and twisted fairy revels.

Every which way they turn new trials will test their wit and strength. But what Gauri and Vikram will soon discover is that there’s nothing more dangerous than what they most desire.


First of all, oh my gosh! That cover is breathtaking! ❤ A Crown of Wishes has been one of my most anticipated reads this year and imagine my surprise when it popped up in my email even before I requested it! I was ecstatic!! This book was simply mindblowing and I loved every bit of it. You can read my review of book 1: The Star-Touched Queen, here.

Gauri is the princess of Bharata who is now awaiting a death sentence for trying to overthrow her tyrannical brother whereas Vikram is frustrated being the sole heir who is not taken seriously by anyone because of his origins. When Vikram gets a chance to participate in a Tournament of Wishes, he desperately needs a partner to enter it and when he offers this chance to Gauri, she grabs it. But the tournament is far from something they had ever imagined, it will either grant their wish or destroy them forever.

“Love is like Death without the guarantee of its arrival. Love may not come for you, but when it does it will be just as swift and ruthless as Death and just as blind to your protestations. And just as Death will end one life and leave you with another, so will Love.”

I really enjoyed the plot of this book. It definitely held some similarities with The Star-Touched Queen and I loved that aspect. Vikram and Gauri are complete opposites and they are both thrust into the Otherworld to compete for the Tournament of Wishes in Alaka. Now, this was really intriguing although some parts felt a bit rushed. The Lord of Wealth who was the host for this tournament was indeed very cunning, he knew how to twist one sense into another.

This story like the previous book had so many references to Indian myths. I was actually overjoyed to see that “Vikram and Vetal” was also incorporated into this story as well, it was one of my favorite story and cartoon that I used to watch as a child on Sunday mornings. There was also reference to Lord Krishna one time. Nonetheless, these itsy-bitsy bits were fun to read about.

“He stared at me. “Are you done? ”
“Yes.”
“May I get up? ”
“No.”
“I see you like your men with their egos gutted.”
“Only when I’m feeling generous.”

All the characters were richly layered and unique. The characterisation was the heart and soul of this book.  I absolutely loved Gauri, she was brave and feisty and Vikram was pretty humorous. They perfectly balanced each other. Their relationship started out as enemies, then allies which slowly evolved into something more and I loved them together so freaking much!

The worldbuilding was pretty awesome! There were so many different kinds of people in the Otherworld, I especially loved the incorporation of viskanyas, the women who can kill by their poison touch. Aasha was a pretty interesting character and I loved her friendship with Gauri. The action and the adventure never failed to surprise me and I was thoroughly entertained throughout the story.

Overall, A Crown of Wishes was a pretty great read. The plot was executed neatly and I fell in love with the characters. I loved the romance between Vikram and Gauri. The writing flowed so beautifully which kept me glued to my e-reader and the pace was even throughout the book. I am definitely looking forward to reading more by this author.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Sooo guys, how many of you are impatiently waiting for this book? Have you read The Star-Touched Queen? If yes, how was your experience? Are you looking forward to reading this book?

15 thoughts on “Review: A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

  1. I’m so excited for this one! I loved The Star Touched Queen so much ❤ I'm glad you enjoyed it so much and now I'm looking forward to reading Gauri's story even more 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I still haven’t even read The Star-Touched Queen, which I thought was a polarizing read when I looked at my GRs friends’ reviews. However, I’m really looking forward to this duology (or is it a series?). I am glad that delivered for you though, Poulami. And yes, that cover is stunning-so is the first installment’s.

    And did I ever tell you that I like the new formatting for your blog and the way the reviews appear? So professional and nice!

    Summer

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2017! |

Leave a Reply

