Blogger Spotlight: Interview with Lauren @ SERIESous Book Reviews

Abstract background with a watercolor texture

Hey, guys! Welcome to Blogger Spotlight. This feature is going to contain interviews, guest post, and other fun stuff! So stay tuned for more fun in the future.

For this month’s edition, I bring you an awesome Q&A by Lauren @ SERIESous Book Reviews! Don’t forget to check out her blog!

1. Tell us a little about your blog and how you first got into blogging?

I credit two things with my starting a book blog: Goodreads & the Delirium Series by Lauren Oliver.

I say Goodreads because it reminded me that there was a medium out there for book reviews. I figured, hey, I read a lot of books; friends ask me what to read all the time; I enjoy writing, I should get on that! So I decided I would write Goodreads reviews for books I read and post them on the site.

Then, I read the last book of the Requiem, the last book in the Delirium Trilogy and hated it! I felt so let down that I had invested 3 years of my life waiting for these books to come out only to be completely let down by the finale! I wondered if there was any what I could have avoided that and tried to Google blogs that review book series as a whole. I couldn’t find any that did it exclusively and so I decided to do one myself!

Thus, I started up SERIESous Book Reviews (I love puns!) to review series on a “to-read” or “not-to-read” basis (I also love Hamlet). Of course, I review new book series that only have the first novel out as well as standalones. I also love movies, so I write reviews on book-to-movie adaptions too!

2. What is your most and least favourite thing as a book blogger?

I actually really enjoy the HTML aspect of being a blogger. When I was younger I really got into HTML and graphic aspects of Neopets and I realized the blogging (years later) filled that void for me. One of the reasons I really wanted to self-host my blog once it was established was to get more control over my blog’s formatting and play around with the graphics.It’s fun trying to format book lists in an interesting way!

Believe it or not, I have a hard time writing 5 star reviews sometimes! Because I don’t write in spoilers, it’s hard to provide evidence for why a book is amazing when you can’t fully explain it. And I also don’t want to just be a raving fan-girl throughout the review either; I want my reviews to have a little substance between the fan-girling.

3. What genre is your favorite and why?

The New Adult (NA) genre as a whole is definitely my favourite genre right now. Specially, contemporary romances. It’s funny because I really don’t enjoy YA contemporaries at all. I think because I am closer to the characters in age and experience, I can relate to the stories in NA so much more.

YA high fantasy though is a close second 😉

4. How many books do you read in a month – roughly?

I average 15-20 books in a month. But now that I’m no longer a student and am starting my career this month, I’m really not sure how many I’ll be able to manage now.

5. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest recently and why?

Jamie Howard is one of my new favourite authors and I wish more people would talk about her! She writes some stellar NA stories. Honestly, I think I’ve given all her books 5/5. They are phenomenal.
Piper Lawson (a fellow Canadian) also writes fantastic NA contemporary romances as well. Her novels get better every time I pick them up!

6. Is there a particular movie or TV series that you prefer or preferred over the book version?

I think the Princess Bride movie is the best example of a great movie adaption. Sure, it helps that the author wrote the screenplay so it is just fantastic. The same goes for The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

The Maze Runner and Stardust are movies that I enjoyed so much more than the books.

7. Have you read a book that you would like to rewrite the ending of?

I’m going to go with The Crown by Kiera Cass and it’s not just because Eadlyn ends up with the guy I didn’t want to be picked (though that is a big part). The whole novel was just so, so rushed to me and I found the ending to be so disappointing. You could have done a lot with this entire world (one of my peeves with the original series as well) and I feel like Cass dropped the ball with this last installment.

Oh, and Requiem by Lauren Oliver. I would really appreciate some closure with that world.

8. Do you have a favorite book cover? Chose up to 3 if you like.

How’s a girl to choose!
1) A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray (honestly the whole series)
2) Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley
3) The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

Now, time for some quick questions. You ready? Let’s go!

Coffee or tea?
TEA!

Dystopia or Fantasy?
Fantasy (though this could really go either way!)

Pizza or burgers?
Pizza

Cats or dogs?
Dogs

Hogwarts or Narnia?
Narnia!


Blogger Bio:

My name is Lauren and I’m the blogger behind SERIESous Book Reviews! I’ve been blogging for nearly 4 years, focusing mostly on book series and reviewing them as a whole, instead of one book at a time. I’m a proud Canadian (yes: that means I eat ice cream in -20°C weather, apologize a lot and drop the occasional “eh” into conversation)and live in a place that’s best summed up as “a small town south of Toronto”. I adore anything with Shakespeare in it; I love to travel the world (Australia is next!) and I’m only slightly addicted to Netflix. Oh, and I guess you could say I read a lot of books!

Follow her on:

Twitter || Bloglovin’ || Goodreads || Blog


Soo I hope you guys enjoy the interview!

8 thoughts on “Blogger Spotlight: Interview with Lauren @ SERIESous Book Reviews

  1. Aww, I’m loving this series, Poulami! I’ve already befriended Marie, Raven, and Lauren since they’ve been around since the time I’ve started blogging (or even before that, I think). Anyway, I love getting to learn more about them this way! Haha, I love the question about beautiful books. I couldn’t agree with Lauren’s choices more; all those covers are utterly gorgeous. ❤

    Summer

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2017! |

Leave a Reply

