Review: Bully by Penelope Douglas

BullyTitle: Bully
Author: Penelope Douglas
Series: Fall Away, book 1 [Can be read as a standalone]
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Upper Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Pretty warm
Trigger Warning: Bullying
Page Count and Format: 333 pages, Ebook
Published: February 18th, 2014 by Intermix (Penguin Group (USA) LLC)
Source: Purchased
My Rating:

5 stars

Blurb (from Goodreads):

My name is Tate. He doesn’t call me that, though. He would never refer to me so informally, if he referred to me at all. No, he’ll barely even speak to me.

But he still won’t leave me alone.

We were best friends once. Then he turned on me and made it his mission to ruin my life. I’ve been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got more sadistic as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to stay out of his way. I even went to France for a year, just to avoid him.

But I’m done hiding from him now, and there’s no way in hell I’ll allow him to ruin my senior year. He might not have changed, but I have. It’s time to fight back.

I’m not going to let him bully me anymore.

***This novel contains adult/mature young adult situations. It is only suitable for ages 18+ due to language, violence, and sexual situations.


My Thoughts

Bully was raw and heartbreaking and it hit right in the feels! This book definitely took me by surprise and took me on an unforgivable ride and a definitely good one at that as I had a preeetty tough time closing my e-reader. I think this book is either a hit or miss for the readers and I’m so glaaaad it was the former for me.

“Yesterday lasts forever.
Tomorrow comes never.
Until you”

Tate and Jared went way back but everything changed one summer he went to live with his dad and came back as a different person. Since then he became a bully and Tate was the target of all his tortures. Tate gets a break when she goes off to France for a year. Will things change after she comes back or will it get much worse than ever?

The plot of this book was unpredictable and I really enjoyed that fact. Jared and Tate have been best friends since childhood but his target has always been Tate ever since he returned from that fateful vacation from his father’s home. She couldn’t figure it out where all went wrong but Jared goes out of his way to find new methods to bully her every day. At first, it was really frustrating to see how Jared treated her but despite everything, there was this undeniable spark between them.

“Letting yourself be vulnerable isn’t always a weakness. Sometimes it can be a conscious decision to draw the other person out.”

I loved how the story unfolded. And I absolutely loved how layered both the characters were. Tate is such a strong character, she was different and lot more matured after she returns from France. This time she hits right back whenever she faces Jared. His story, on the other hand, broke my heart. Their relationship took the time to develop and oh I loved the angst! Although the romance was a tad bit predictable, it was slow and sweet burn and I loved it so freaking much!

Some of the things that Jared did really angered me but in the end, I understood where all the anger and hate was coming from. The other characters were surprisingly fun to read about. I especially enjoyed Madoc’s character. He came on a douchebag at first but he definitely warmed up to my heart.

Overall, Bully was a great read. I loved how the story was executed and the characters were pretty complex but intriguing. There’s something about Penelope’s writing that draws me in. It definitely had the same vibe as Punk 57 (which I was unable to write a coherent review about) and I absolutely loooved that book. She is definitely an author I’m looking forward to reading more from.

Recommend it?

Yes!


Lets Chat

So guys, have you read this book yet? Did you love it or disliked it or is it still in you tbr? Have you read any other book by this author?

9 thoughts on “Review: Bully by Penelope Douglas

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2017! |

Leave a Reply

