Review: The Last Shadow Gate by Michael W. Garza

The Last Shadow GateTitle: The Last Shadow Gate
Author: Michael W. Garza
Series: The Shadow Gate Chronicles, book 1
Genre: Fantasy, [Middle-Grade]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 264 pages, Ebook
Expected Publication: March 3rd, 2017 by NeverHaven Press
Source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

 4 stars

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Summer vacation was never supposed to be like this.

It was bad enough Naomi had to be shipped off to her dad’s home for the summer and deal with her half-brother Gavin, but when the siblings are forced to spend their break with their great-grandmother in upstate New York, everything changes. An investigation into the strange disappearance of their great-grandfather forces them to retrace his footsteps. They discover a gateway between worlds and encounter extraordinary creatures in a land where the people are desperate to escape the coming of a shade lord. To survive their adventure, Naomi and Gavin must settle their differences and find the elusive shadow gate that will take them home again.


My Thoughts

The Last Shadow Gate was a fast paced and adventurous story which I really enjoyed.

Gavin and Naomi are forced to spend their summer holiday with their great-grandmother whom they believe to be crazy. But that soon changes when they begin to investigate upon hearing the full story from her. Their world turns upside down when they land into a different realm through the Shadow Gate, the same realm where their great-grandfather never returned from. Will Gavin and Naomi be able to return home or will they be lost forever?

The plot was really enjoyable and I had so much fun reading this story. Gavin lives with her father whereas Naomi with her mother, they both don’t get along much but they have no other choice than to spend the whole summer together with their great-grandmother. I loved how the story was weaved and the plot was rich in world-building.

All the characters were layered which was an added bonus. Gavin acted a bit matured for his age but I seriously loved that guy! He reminded me of my brother in fact. I really love sibling stories and this was one of the books that portrayed a really good sibling relationship. I loved how their bickering turned into caring for one another. I really, really enjoyed it.

There were so many different kinds of people in the realm where Gavin and Naomi ended up in. They added the much-needed depth in the story. Tiberius was a kind of hybrid, I wasn’t really sure what to feel about him at first but I really liked how this character matured throughout the book. Lanacin was another character I enjoyed and I really hope to see more of him in book 2 and of course, how can I forget Kesi, I really loved her and I understood why she did what she did.

I enjoyed the action and the adventure they had to go throughout the book in order to obtain all the diaries of Gavin and Naomi’s great-grandfather in order to return home. The Wretched, the zombie-like monsters were a bit predictable and we got only a glimpse of the villains- Azzmon and Malick in this book but I so wanted more.

Overall, The Last Shadow Gate was a good read. The plot was neatly executed and I really enjoyed the characters. The pace was fast throughout the book and the writing was smooth and easy to read. I am definitely looking forward to reading the next book.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Lets Chat

So guys, what do you think about this book? Are you interested in reading it?

7 thoughts on “Review: The Last Shadow Gate by Michael W. Garza

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: February 2017! |

Leave a Reply

