Review: A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart

A Thousand LettersTitle: A Thousand Letters
Author: Staci Hart
Standalone
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]
Heat Rating: Warm
Page Count and Format: 282 pages, Ebook
Published: February 9th, 2017
Source: I received a review copy from InkSlinger PR in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

2 stars

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Sometimes your life is split by a single decision.

I’ve spent every day of the last seven years regretting mine: he left, and I didn’t follow. A thousand letters went unanswered, my words like petals in the wind, spinning away into nothing, taking me with them.

But now he’s back.

I barely recognize the man he’s become, but I can still see a glimmer of the boy who asked me to be his forever, the boy I walked away from when I was young and afraid.

Maybe if he’d come home under better circumstances, he could speak to me without anger in his voice. Maybe if I’d said yes all those years ago, he’d look at me without the weight of rejection in his eyes. Maybe if things were different, we would have had a chance.

One regretted decision sent him away. One painful journey brought him back to me. I only wish I could keep him.

*A contemporary romance inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion*


My Thoughts

This book was literally everywhere a few days ago and kinda still is. Most of the reviews that I had read of this book made my expectation very high though I was sure I wouldn’t be getting a review copy but well… I did. I really, really hoped to love it and I did enjoy it but in the end, it fell short for me.

Elliot let the love of her life walk away seven years ago. She wrote him letters but he never answered any of them back. But now he’s back in town. Both of them have changed but the feelings are still there, buried underneath. Will they be able to let go or will their feeling for each other crash their world?

(Sounds dramatic, eh?)

A Thousand Letters was a good read but it had nothing sort of new. Elliot and Wade had a whole life planned together but when Wade makes a split decision to propose to her before leaving, she is forced to say no, well not exactly, all she wanted was more time and to follow the plan they had made together. When Wade’s father, who is also Elliot’s mentor has only a few days left in him, Wade comes back to spent the last few days with his father. I thought this book was going to contain lots of angst, they were meeting after 7 years after all but their chemistry wasn’t crackling at all.

This book was far too long in my opinion and nothing happened in the first half of the book. Nonetheless, the plot moved gradually and the latter part of the book was enjoyable than the first part. I liked Wade’s father a lot, he was such a lively character despite his terminal illness. One of the major complaints I have about this book is the lack of interaction between the two main characters. Most of the time, one of them was running the other direction whenever they came face to face.

Elliot’s family treated her like a piece of shit, I don’t know how she endured it every day. I was glad when she finally stood up. She kept justifying herself but she definitely should have done that a lot sooner. On the other hand, Wadeé family was a complete sweetheart. I actually gave this book 3 stars but while writing this review I noticed there was barely anything that I enjoyed about this book.

Overall, A Thousand Hearts could have been a great read, it had a lot of potentials but ultimately it felt flat for me. Nonetheless, I liked how everything patched up in the end. The pace was even throughout the book and the writing was beautiful, that was one of the factors which kept me going.

Recommend it?

Maybe.


Lets Chat

So guys, have you read this book yet? If not, are you looking forward to it? Have you read any other book by this author?

7 thoughts on “Review: A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart

  1. It’s pretty sad that it wasn’t up to the hype! I was really excited to read this book because Persuasion is one of my favorite Jane Austen’s books. I’ve been hearing the same issues from the other readers but I still want to give this a try. Great Review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: February 2017! |

Leave a Reply

