Review: Weddings, Crushes, and Other Dramas by Emily McKay

33863871Title: Weddings, Crushes, and Other Dramas
Author: Emily McKay
Series: Creative HeArts, book 6, [Willa and Finn, book 2]
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 185 pages, Ebook
Expected Publication: February 13th, 2017 by Entangled: Crush
Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating:

3 stars

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Falling in love with the best man wasn’t on the program.

Willa is happy to be the maid of honor in her dad’s upcoming wedding to uber-celeb Mia McCain. Not as happy about the best man being her soon-to-be stepbrother, the infuriating—and infuriatingly gorgeous—Finn McCain. Every time their paths cross, the attraction simmering between them grows a little harder to ignore. Willa knows all about guys like Finn—they only want what they can’t have. What’s between them isn’t real.

Finn has never felt anything more real than what’s developing between him and Willa. Sure, her dad warned him to steer clear, but it’s not just about forbidden temptation. He’s determined to prove to Willa he’s not going anywhere—and that happily-ever-after will always be worth the risk.

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains a wedding so crazy it’ll make you laugh, a stepbrother so hot he’ll make you swoon, and a heroine so real she’ll make you cry.


My Thoughts

I was waiting eagerly for this book for sooo long, I had high hopes for this book but unfortunately, it didn’t quite live up to my expectations but I did enjoy it. You can read my review of book 1: How Willa Got Her Groove Back, here.

Willa’s life turned upside down since her father decided to marry Mia McCain who is a famous celebrity. Along with everything, it also bought Finn McCain into her life. Willa knows that nothing is possible between them but she can’t deny the attraction she feels towards her soon-to-be-stepbrother either. Will Willa be able to untangle herself from this mess?

This book picks up from where book 1 left off. Willa’s dad and Finn’s mom and to be married soon but Willa and Finn both have not so step-siblings feelings towards each other. I enjoyed this book but there were some factors which I couldn’t ignore. I loved Finn, he was so, so great but Willa acted a little too immaturely. It was crystal clear that Finn cared for her so much yet she was hell bent on thinking the opposite. Also, the word good-looking and hot were used waaaay too many times. I get it, Finn is handsome along with the rest of the other guys in this book but what about the qualities that actually matters? We do get this but kinda at the last 30% of this book which was really disappointing.

The plot felt a little too repetitive but I did enjoy it. I loved the minor characters in this book, it was pretty great to see the other characters from this series, especially Mariely who is Willa’s best friend. I didn’t know what to feel about Damien in book 1 but in this book her really showed his true colours. I liked the romance between Willa and Finn and I was soo happy to see how they finally got to their senses. I definitely enjoyed how everything is resolved in this book.

Overall, Weddings, Crushes, and Other Dramas was a good read. The plot was executed neatly and I liked the chemistry between Willa and Finn. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Lets Chat

So guys, how many of  you are eagerly waiting for this book? Have you read the rest of the books in this series? Which one is your favourite?

8 thoughts on “Review: Weddings, Crushes, and Other Dramas by Emily McKay

  1. I don’t know if I would read this book… I understand that there is nothing weird about step-siblings getting together from a physical space, but I can’t get around it mentally! Plus, overuse of words in writing drives me crazy. I’m glad that you enjoyed it, however! Do you know if there will be more books in this series?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Spotlight Tour: Weddings, Crushes, and other Dramas by Emily McKay |
  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: February 2017! |

Leave a Reply

