Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Series: Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, book 1

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 352 pages, Ebook

Published: June 7th, 2011 by Quirk Books

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 4 stars

Blurb (from Goodreads):

A mysterious island.



An abandoned orphanage.



A strange collection of very curious photographs.



It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.



A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.


My Thoughts

This book was quite a unique read. I enjoyed the characters and the worldbuilding so much.

Jacob doesn’t believe in his grandfather’s tales about the mysterious island and the people living in it but when things take a turn for the worse Jacob is determined to find out about these peculiar children. What he finds out could actually lead him to more complication as he realizes the peculiar children could actually be dangerous and all of them might still be actually alive. Will Jacob fall into more danger in his quest to find about these peculiars or is danger already following him?

The plot was really refreshing and I enjoyed reading the way everything was executed in this book. Jacob is just a sixteen-year-old kid who used to believe in everything his grandfather said but as he grows up, he thinks all the stories are just his grandfather’s imagination until tragedy strikes. I liked the detailings of this book and the pictures although not terrifying were definitely creepy.

There were so many characters in this book and that added a lot of layers to it. I liked Jacob, although he was sometimes unsure about his decisions but he did handle them maturely. Miss Peregrine was a unique character, I definitely enjoyed reading about her and all the other peculiars were quite fascinating as well. Emma was another character on which this book focused more than the others, that was quite obvious with her history and I did like her character but

Emma was another character on which this book focused more than the others, that was quite obvious with her history and I did like her character but the romance between her and Jacob felt a bit odd. It felt a bit forced. Nonetheless, all the other aspects of this story were quite enjoyable.

Overall, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was a great read! I enjoyed the plot and all the characters were unique. This book took us to a wild adventure which I greatly enjoyed. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. I haven’t picked up the other books in this series yet but I hope to pick the up soon!

Recommend it?

Yes.


Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: Movie Review

miss_peregrine_film_poster

 

Director: Tim Burton

Cast: Eva Green, Asa Butterfield, Chris O’Dowd, Allison Janney, Rupert Everett, Terence Stamp, Ella Purnell, Judi Dench, Samuel L. Jackson

Release Date (US): September 30, 2016

My Rating: 3 stars


My Thoughts

  • I enjoyed the movie but not as much as the book.
  • The cinematography and the visuals were really, really good.
  • The cast was awesome! I loved Eva Green who played Miss Peregrine, she was so freaking fantastic. I also loved Ella Purnell who played Emma. But Asa Butterfield who played Jacob in this movie left me a little unsatisfied.
  • Although the romance is very little, I definitely liked it more in the movie.
  • I felt the movie focused on enjoyment rather than plot development.
  • Although there are quite a lot of difference in the movie from the book, the 2nd portion of the movie diverted a lot from the original and the ending was changed completely and that’s why the movie ended up being standalone. Maybe, that was the reason there was so much difference.
  • Nonetheless, I loved the acting and the action, especially the last fight was pretty enjoyable and I would definitely recommend this movie!

Lets Chat

So guys have you read the book and watched the movie? Or any one of them? What did you think about it? Share your thoughts with me!

19 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. Great review, Poulami! I’ve only seen the movie, but it seems like your opinion echoes a lot of what I’ve heard going around the community: the book was just better. I’m probably not going to pick up the series, but I’m glad to hear that overall you enjoyed this title. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really glad that you enjoyed this book! I have read the whole trilogy and really enjoyed it over all. I think my favourite is the second book. I just love the world that Ransom Riggs has created, it’s very fascinating!
    I haven’t seen the movie yet. I have honestly no idea why. I should probably get to that!!
    Great reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: December 2016!

Leave a Reply

