Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Red Queen

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Series: Red Queen, book 1

Genre: Fantasy, Dystopia, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 383 pages, Ebook

Published: February 12th, 2015 by Orion

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 3 stars

Blurb (from Goodreads):

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The poverty-stricken Reds are commoners, living in the shadow of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from the Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Then Mare finds herself working at the Silver palace, in the midst of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.


My Thoughts

This book was definitely an enjoyable ride although predictable. But I enjoyed the action parts and the world building intrigued me very much.

Mare Barrow is a Red, a lesser being whereas each of the Silvers possesses a deadly power of their own. The Reds are treated pretty badly and when Mare tries to escape from being sent to the war, she instead ends up being a servant of the Silver palace. But pretty soon the cards alter when Mare realizes she is as powerful as the Silvers. She is dragged into the middle of the dirty politics of the Silver where she is forced to play her part. Will Mare survive this challenge or is it something she never ever dreamt in her worst nightmare?
(Seeee, my kind of synopsis are getting better…. or weirder!)

I definitely enjoyed the plot of Red Queen. I loved the concept of the society divided into the Reds and the Silvers, whereas the Reds have no powers and the Silvers maintain a hand over the rest of the population due to their special powers. Even though the plot was quite enjoyable, I felt there was something missing. Also, this book was quite predictable and hence it didn’t manage to surprise me due to which it kinda lost its appeal. But I absolutely enjoyed the world-building.

Now the characters! I have mixed feelings about Mare, although I did like her but sometimes she was too naive for her own good. Also, I definitely wanted some more character development. And next, comes the boy drama… *sighs* There are 3 btw!! She is betrothed to Maven but she has feelings for her older brother Cal whereas there’s the other guy Kilorn in her village whom she maybe liked? (I forgot! I read this back in August!!) So basically I have mixed feelings about everybody! I did like Cal more than the others, if it counts for something. I felt he was more understanding and caring than the others but for the love of Medusa (I soo don’t know why I said that!) I don’t know why he felt the need to stay away despite his feelings towards Mare.

I liked the romance between Mare and Cal but I wanted more. Here’s to hoping more of everything in the rest of this series. I just hope the love triangle doesn’t expand to polygonal or hexagonal!! I think… kind of liked Mare’s family and the mystery surrounding her missing brother. Although I am definitely interested in knowing what happens next, I am not quite in a hurry to read Glass Sword.

Overall, Red Queen was an enjoyable read. The plot was executed well but it was predictable. I liked the characters but I wanted more character growth. I definitely liked the action part of this book, it was quite engaging. The writing was smooth and easy to read and it was fast paced.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Lets Chat

Soo guys have you read this book yet? What did you think about it? Loved it or was it meh? Share your thoughts with me!

15 thoughts on “Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I never finished this book. I got about 60% through then just lost all will to continue. I completely agree, its very predictable.

    Apparently it’s been awhile since I’ve actually visited your physical site so I wanted to say I love the new layout and banner on top! Very cute. I’m using the same theme, can I ask a question? How did you change your connect buttons to glittery? I’m terrible at coding and want to make mine stars to match my new theme.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah it was but I am hoping the rest of the books in this series will live up to it.

      Thanks! Well, at first you have to search social media icons, there are loads of them available, most of them are free. I got mine from here. The rest of the steps are getting converted into html if I write them here, so drop me a message at @DaydreaminBooks, I’ll give you the whole code there.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha, I agree! One of my weaknesses is reading YA fantasy-romance… I get so swept away by everything and end up loving it. When reading RQ, in my mind I *knew* that it wasn’t that good, but I loved it anyway.
    Are you going to read Glass Sword? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The reviews on Goodreads for this book have been so polarizing; this could be the reason why I’ve been putting it off despite it being on my TBR for a while. I’m glad you enjoyed this overall despite your reservations though. Nice review, Poulami! I hope you enjoy the next book when you get around to it!

    Happy holidays,
    Summer at Xingsings

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve read Red Queen and pretty much liked it but I haven’t read the sequel yet mostly because of all the mixed reviews. I don’t know if I should continue or not because I’m afraid that I’m not going to like it so for now I had put it on hold.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: December 2016!

Leave a Reply

