Review: Whispers and the Roars by K. Webster || Blog Tour

whispers_tour
Welcome to my tour stop of Whispers and the Roars by K. Webster organized by IndieSage PR. You can view the full schedule here.


Title: Whispers and the Roars

Author: K. Webster

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Mental-Illness, [New-Adult]

Standalone

Heat Rating: Pretty warm

Trigger Warning: Abuse

Page Count and Format: 227 pages, Ebook

Published: December 6th, 2016 by K Webster

Source: I received a review copy of this book from IndieSage PR in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: 4 stars

Blurb (from Goodreads):

When my eyes are closed, the monster can’t ever see me.
When I sing a song in my head, the monster can’t ever hear me.
When I pretend my bedroom is a playground where I play hide and seek, the monster can’t ever find me.

The darkness should frighten me.
I should worry I’ll find more monsters…monsters scarier than him.
But I’m not afraid.

It’s safe here.
When I’m inside of my head…

He. Can’t. Ever. Touch. Me.

Author’s Note: THIS STANDALONE IS BEST ENJOYED WHEN YOU DON’T READ ANY REVIEWS OR SPOILERS BEFORE READING. GOING IN BLIND IS BEST. TRUST ME.

Warning: Whispers and the Roars is a dark romance. Strong sexual themes and violence, which could trigger emotional distress are found in this story. The abuse written in this story is graphic and not glossed over which could be upsetting to some. Proceed with caution. This story is NOT for everyone.


My Thoughts

This book was quite a ride! I had read a book by K. Webster before (which was quite mind blowing btw…), I picked this one immediately and damn… this was definitely explosive as ever!

As the author said in the blurb, one should go into this book without knowing nothing otherwise, it’ll ruin the whole essence of this book, I too will be very vague in this review because I don’t want to give away the actual spoiler but it’s going to be very freaking hard to review this book but trust me, it’s worth the read, it’s not an average NA book.

Kady is running from the ghosts of her past, the only constant in her life was her boyfriend Yeo, who she pushed away. But now he is back in town and he wants her back in his life. But when the demons of her past come back to haunt her, where will she run?

The plot was executed in a unique way. Kady doesn’t trust anybody except a select few of her friends. Her only solace and comfort were her boyfriend Yeo before she pushed him away because she felt she was keeping him tied down. Things start to change when he comes back but her past won’t let her live. Up until 50% of the book, some of the things that were happening felt a little wrong to me but then wamn bam!! In the freaking face! The plot twist came out of nowhere, I didn’t even imagine something like this could happen and trust me, everything falls into place.

I’ve been wanting to read a book with this particular mental illness for a long time since I read a book by Sidney Sheldon and this was even better than that! The mental illness is treated sensitively but it’s not glossed over. I can’t say anything more about this topic but you guys should most definitely read this book.

All the characters are well fleshed out, I think it’s one of the reasons I couldn’t detect the plot twist that was speeding my way. Nonetheless, I loved Kady and I really hated what she had to go through in her childhood. Yeo is the man of any girl’s dreams. And yay to the diversity, I love Korean people! Although Kady pushed him away, he never gave that place in his heart to anybody else. And most of all, Kady comes with a lot of baggage but Yeo stayed, his love and loyalty for this girl really touched my heart.

Overall, Whispers and the Roars was a fantastic read. The plot and the characters were executed really well. I loved the romance and the relationship between Yeo and Kady. The plot twist was really… well twisty (just read the book). The writing was a tad bit different but it suited the book and I definitely loved it and the pace was even throughout the book. I can’t wait to read more by this author.

Recommend it?

YES!


Author Bio:

K Webster is the author of dozens romance books in many different genres including contemporary romance, historical romance, paranormal romance, and erotic romance. When not spending time with her husband of twelve years and two adorable children, she’s active on social media connecting with her readers.

Her other passions besides writing include reading and graphic design. K can always be found in front of her computer chasing her next idea and taking action. She looks forward to the day when she will see one of her titles on the big screen.

Author Links:

Website || Newsletter || Facebook || Twitter

Purchase Links:

Amazon || Amazon UK || Amazon CA || Amazon AU || iBooks || Kobo


Giveaway!

$20 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Lets Chat

So guys, are you interested in reading this book? Have you read any other book by this author? Is yes, how has been your experience so far? Share your thoughts with me!

7 thoughts on “Review: Whispers and the Roars by K. Webster || Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: December 2016!

Leave a Reply

