Review: Unblemished by Sara Ella || Blog Tour

tour-banner
Welcome to my tour stop of Unblemished by Sara Ella hosted by The Fantastic Flying Book Club. You can view the full tour schedule here.


Title: Unblemished

Author: Sara Ella

Series: Unblemished, book 1

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 352 pages, Ebook

Published: October 11th, 2016 by Thomas Nelson

Source: I received an eARC of this book for the blog tour from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Eliyana has always recoiled from her own reflection in the mirror. But what if that were only one Reflection—one world? What if another world existed where her blemish could become her strength?

Eliyana is used to the shadows. With a hideous birthmark covering half her face, she just hopes to graduate high school unscathed. That is, until Joshua hops a fence and changes her perspective. No one, aside from her mother, has ever treated her as normal. Maybe even beautiful. Because of Joshua, Eliyana finally begins to believe she could be loved.

But one night her mother doesn’t come home, and that’s when everything gets weird.

Now Joshua is her new, and rather reluctant, legal Guardian. Add a hooded stalker and a Central Park battle to the mix and you’ve gone from weird to otherworldly.

Eliyana soon finds herself in a world much larger and more complicated than she’s ever known. A world enslaved by a powerful and vile man. And Eliyana holds the answer to defeating him. How can an ordinary girl, a blemished girl, become a savior when she can’t even save herself?


My Thoughts

This book was definitely a refreshing read, although sometimes it was a bit confusing but I enjoyed the overall ride.

Eliyana is different from everybody because of her birthmark which covers half of her face. After her mother’s death, she is thrown into a whole new world where her birthmark makes her very special. Thrust with new responsibilities and torn between two of her saviours, when she learns of a new truth, she is shocked .Will she be able to save herself in time?

The plot was definitely interesting. I liked the concept of the Reflections and how it was portrayed. Eliyana is literally thrust into another realm after her mom’s death where she learns a lot of things about herself. She wasn’t much welcome among her classmates due to her birthmark but in this realm she learns she is of utmost importance. And because of that trouble doesn’t leave her alone either, I enjoyed the action and the adventure throughout the book, something or the other was constantly happening which kept me thoroughly engaged.

The alternate realm of the Reflection was pretty complex and I liked the world building but sometimes it was too complex. Some information confused me and some flew over my head, especially the information regarding the Verity and the Void, I’m hoping that everything will clear up in the next book.

The characters were well fleshed out. I liked Eliyana, although at first, it seemed she was too dependent on Joshua, her best friend a.k.a her guardian in disguise. But I loved her character growth throughout the book. I did like Joshua and I thought I was actually going to be on his team but I’m damn torn because Ky stole my heart! He was just so caring and understanding and definitely swoony! And considering how much I loathe love triangles, it was really done well in this book.

Overall, Unblemished was a great read! I enjoyed the plot though it was confusing at times. The characters were rounded and I loved them! I loved the chemistry between Ky and Eliyana. The writing was beautiful and smooth and the pace was even throughout the book. I really, reaaally want to know what happens next, can’t wait for the next book!

Recommend it?

Yes.


Book Trailer:


Author Bio:

saraOnce upon a time, SARA ELLA dreamed she would marry a prince (just call her Mrs. Charming) and live in a castle (aka The Plaza Hotel). Though her fairy tale didn’t quite turn out as planned, she did work for Disney—that was an enchanted moment of its own. Now she spends her days throwing living room dance parties for her two princesses and conquering realms of her own imaginings. She believes “ Happily Ever After is Never Far Away” for those who put their faith in the King of kings.

Author Links:

Website || Goodreads || Twitter || Facebook || Tumblr || Pinterest || YouTube || Instagram

Purchase Links:

Amazon || B&N || iTunes || Book Depository || Kobo


Giveaway!

Prize: Win (1) of (2) copies of Unblemished by Sara Ella and some swag (US Only).

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Let's Chat

So guys what do you think about this book? Is it in your tbr? Are you interested in reading it? Share your thoughts with me!

6 thoughts on “Review: Unblemished by Sara Ella || Blog Tour

  1. Great review!! Not sure if I would read this because of the same issues you bought up in the review. I love world building that won’t confuse me. Another love triangle??? Ahh!! I know you said you liked it but I’m so tired of reading them lol. The story has a cool concept though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: October 2016!

Leave a Reply

