Review: Spindle by Shonna Slayton

Title: Spindle

Author: Shonna Slayton

Standalone

Genre: Fantasy, Historical, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 400 pages, Ebook

Published: October 4th 2016 by Entangled: Teen

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558655390

Blurb (from Goodreads):

In a world where fairies lurk and curses linger, love can bleed like the prick of a finger.

Briar Rose knows her life will never be a fairy tale. She’s raising her siblings on her own, her wages at the spinning mill have been cut, and the boy she thought she had a future with has eyes for someone else. Most days it feels like her best friend, Henry Prince, is the only one in her corner…though with his endless flirty jokes, how can she ever take him seriously?

When a mysterious peddler offers her a “magic” spindle that could make her more money, sneaking it into the mill seems worth the risk. But then one by one, her fellow spinner girls come down with the mysterious sleeping sickness—and Briar’s not immune.

If Briar wants to save the girls—and herself—she’ll have to start believing in fairy tales…and in the power of a prince’s kiss.


USEEEEEEEEE

I had such high hopes for this book but I’m sad to say it disappointed me on a massive level. Spindle isn’t exactly a retelling but it’s more like a sequel of Sleeping Beauty. I was immediately intrigued by the blurb but I lost interest in the story pretty soon.

Briar works in a spinning mill to keep her family stable. But one of her frames doesn’t work really well and when she gets a spindle as a gift from a peddler she snatches the opportunity. One by one, all the girls in the mill start falling sick due to the sleeping sickness. Briar notices those are the girls who meddled with her particular spindle. When Briar learns the truth, will she able to save everybody or will she succumb to her prey like everybody else?

The plot held so much promise but sadly it felt flat for me. I was bored to death. The story was followed after a lot of years after Sleeping Beauty’s tale but even if she woke up, the curse was not fully destroyed and somehow it could point its way to Briar. But nothing much happened throughout the entire book, I even considered DNF-ing it but I somehow trudged through. When I reached 50%, the plot started thickening, it felt like the story was finally moving but it lost its pace again until the last 10% of the book.

Briar is a caring and hard working girl who is doing everything to save her brothers and sister after her parents’ death. I loved her relationship with her siblings. After she replaces her old spindle with the new wooden one gifted by a peddler, the girls in her floor start falling sick and when she learns the truth she is horrified. I liked her will to save the other girls even if it meant she would lose her job. But the twists and turns were predictable and I was able to guess them pretty much at the beginning.

I didn’t know what to feel about Henry, he seemed sweet but kind of clingy though my opinion about him changed later. Fanny was the one character I loved immediately, she was so full of life. Though the last few chapters were a bit interesting, the ending felt rushed and everything happened all of a sudden, it didn’t feel real.

Overall, Spindle was sadly a disappointment. The plot failed to hold my interested and the characters were okay. I couldn’t feel any chemistry between Henry and Briar either. The writing was smooth and easy to read but the pace was too slow for my taste. 

Recommend it?

No.


Untitled

Sooo guys what do you think about this book? Is it already in your tbr? Are you looking forward to reading it or have you read it yet? Share your thoughts with me!

6 thoughts on “Review: Spindle by Shonna Slayton

  1. Sorry this was such a disappointment! The synopsis sounds great, but I guess the execution wasn’t there. I always hate it when the twists are predictable and the ending is rushed. I hope you are liking your current read more! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: October 2016!

Leave a Reply

