Review: Waking in Time by Angie Stanton

Title: Waking in Time

Author: Angie Stanton

Standalone

Genre: Time-travelling, Sci-Fi, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 360 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: March 1st, 2017 by Capstone

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating:PicsArt_1444558511051

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Still mourning the loss of her beloved grandmother and shaken by her mysterious, dying request to “find the baby,” Abbi has just arrived at UW Madison for her freshman year. But on her second day, she wakes up to a different world: 1983. That is just the first stop on Abbi’s journey backward through time. Will is a charming college freshman from 1927 who travels forward through time. When Abbi and Will meet in the middle, love adds another complication to their lives. Communicating across time through a buried time capsule, they try to decode the mystery of their travel, find the lost baby, and plead with their champion, a kindly physics professor, to help them find each other again … even though the professor gets younger each time Abbi meets him. This page-turning story full of romance, twists, and delightful details about campus life then and now will stay with readers long after the book’s satisfying end.


USEEEEEEEEE

I love time-travelling and this book was right up to my alley! When I read the blurb, I immediately knew I wanted to read this one and I am glad I got to read it because it was a really good read and I fell in love with it!

Abbi is still mourning the loss of her grandmother while she has just joined college, the one that her grandmother also went to. She made a promise to her in her last days that she doesn’t know how to keep. When she goes to bed her first night, she wakes up in a different time. While wading through her confusion, she learns that she is not alone but she keeps skipping forward in time before she can actually do anything. Will she be able to solve the mystery of her time travelling and return back in time or is she stuck forever?

The plot was pretty interesting. I liked Abbi from the beginning, she was the mourning the loss of her grandmother when she enrolled in college. She had always wanted to join the college her grandmother went to and after she’s gone she thinks she’ll get some closure as well. But when she sleeps, she wakes up in a complete different time. I definitely enjoyed how the story unfolded. Although the time travelling aspect was not explained 100% but it left me satisfied. The professor played a pretty important role and I simply loved how things tied up in the end, it was awesome!

The time travelling aspect was pretty enjoyable. I loved how every time she would wake up in a different time and even more how everything was connected to her grandmother’s promise. As a character, Abbi was pretty interesting and smart and I liked how she handled things. Will was definitely charming. I loved him. He was her companion in time travelling but whereas Abbi moved backward in time, Will moved forward. Their relationship was doomed for the start but the forbidden element intrigued me more. I loved how both the characters fell for each other despite knowing they may never have a future together.

Among all the characters Abbi met during her travelling, I loved Rubi the most and knowing the actual truth about her like Abbi made it much more interesting to read about. It was pretty hard to keep this book down, especially when I nearing towards the end.

Overall, Waking in Time was a unique read! I enjoyed the plot and fell in love with the characters. I loved the realtionship of Will and Abbi and the romance was so sweet. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. I am definitely looking forward to read more books by this author.

Recommend it?

Yes!


Untitled

Sooo guys what do you think about this book? Is it already in your tbr? Are you looking forward to reading it? Share your thoughts with me!

5 thoughts on “Review: Waking in Time by Angie Stanton

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: October 2016!

Leave a Reply

