Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Tittle: Attachments

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page count and Format: 357 pages, Paperback

Published: February 2012 by Orion

Source: Purchased

My rating:  PicsArt_1444558511051

Blurb (from Goodreads):

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . “

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?


USEEEEEEEEE

This book was just sooo cute! This was my second book by Rainbow Rowell after Fangirl. I have been wanting to read this book for so long and I devoured it after I finally got it!

Beth and Jennifer are best friends, they love to keep up about their day to day affairs using their work email which is kind of prohibited. Lincoln has just joined the newspaper company as the IT security guy and his main task is to keep a check on the emails which are not concerned with work. But he doesn’t have a heart to send them a warning, he finds himself guilty but as well as enjoying reading their emails. No sooner he finds himself falling for one of them. Will he ever be able to work up to his courage and ask her out or will it forever remain a secret buried in his heart?

The plot was soo sweet and intriguing! I loved the concept of this story. In fact, Rowell has a way of weaving unique story lines which hooks the readers from the start. This book was no different. It was pretty hard to put this book down. The story is narrated in a unique way as well, it contains alternating POVs, one contains Lincoln’s and the other is the email exchange between Jennifer and Beth. It definitely was an interesting aspect.

I loved Lincoln. He was awkward and shy but I loved him nonetheless. His duty as the IT security guy was to read all the emails of the workers and send them a warning if the contents are not work related. He didn’t love his job and the only reason he stayed put was because the emails of Jennifer and Beth lit up his day. The emails exchanged between Jennifer and Beth were quite hilarious, it was so fun to read about the. I could understand why Lincoln couldn’t send them a warning.

b1bda0acda38df8fe013f89fafbf439b

I loved the concept about falling for someone before even seeing that person. That’s what made this book more sweet because in a way Lincoln and Beth fell for each other. He loved her words and fell in love with her personality and for Beth, he was the cute IT guy! I simply loved those two! It seemed quite impossible that anything could possibly happen between them but I loved the twist and turns the story provided.

Overall, Attachments was a great and entertaining read! The plot was uniquely executed and I never felt bored. I fell in love with the characters and I pretty much loved everything about this book. The writing was beautiful and the pace was even throughout the book. I can’t wait to devour all the books by Rowell.

Recommend it?

Yes!


Untitled

Sooo guys what do you think about this book? Have you read it or is it in your tbr? Read any other books by this author? How has been your experience so far? Share your thoughts with me!

16 thoughts on “Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I bought this book two weeks ago, and this is the second good review I’ve read in the last 24 hours. I think I need to bump this one up on my list. It’s sounds super cute. I started reading Carry On last week and couldn’t get into it. But everyone seems to love Fangirl. Nice review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like such a cute book! I’ve only heard amazing things about it and I love Rainbow’s other books. Reading this review has made me want to read it more 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: September 2016!
  4. Gahhh! Just finished Attachments and I am so in love with it ❤ My friends think that the plot sounds nuts and that Lincoln can't possibly be as amazing as I say he is, but I guess you can't understand it unless you read it 🙂 I love Lincoln and Beth so much. I'm glad Jen got her happy ending, and yeah! 🙂 Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

