Review: Shadow of a Girl by Shannon Greenland

Title: Shadow of a Girl

Author: Shannon Greenland

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Mildly warm

Trigger Warning: Mention of abuse

Page Count and Format: 238 pages, Ebook

Published: September 19th 2016 by Entangled: Teen

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Use cash and keep moving.

After I ran away from home, these were the two rules that dictated my life. Scoring a job as a roadie fit perfectly for what I needed. Traveling, cash, and life out of the spotlight. But when my path collides with West, the lead singer of Bus Stop, I can’t seem to stay out of his spotlight—especially since we’ll be touring together for an entire year.

West is determined to break down my walls. He won’t give up. And little by little they come crumbling. But if he knew what lurked behind them, he wouldn’t be so eager to get rid of them.

The more time we spend together, the more the lines of our friendship become blurred. He makes me dream of things I never thought possible. But while our friendship has been evolving into a romance, my secrets have been closing in. And just when I’ve decided to reveal my past to West, I’m confronted by it. The cost of my freedom could ruin the life of the guy I love…


USEEEEEEEEE

This book turned out to be different that I expected. Lately this has been happening but I have no complain if this happens in a good way. I loved this book so much, it was a great read and I sooo enjoyed the ride!

Eve is a runaway. She has finally managed to escape Gideon but his shadow still follows her everywhere until she meets West, the lead single of Bus Stop. She takes up the job as a roadie, travelling from town to town so that she doesn’t get caught. Both West and Eve can’t deny the chemistry between them. But Eve is too messed up in the head to actually start a relationship. Will it be too late when she finally decides to stand up for herself?

The plot was pretty interesting. I loved how the story was executed and I was hooked from the start. This story reminded me of Safe Haven a little but it turned out to be more intriguing. Eve finally runs away from her abuser with the help from her best friend when she  shares her secret with her. She starts working as a roadie, constantly travelling and lands up a job for Bus Stop – an Indie rock band. There she meets West, the totally swoony and adorable guy! I loved him sooo much! He was equally patient and loyal and treated Eve with the respect she deserved.

soag-teaser-1

This story gives us a glimpse what abuse can do to a person. I felt so, so bad for Eve, her demons wouldn’t leave her alone, she was constantly on alert, she couldn’t even be 100% okay, even with West although she knew he was a good guy. But I loved how her being with West slowly changed her mindset towards the world. I loved Eve and West together sooo much! They had electrifying chemistry and I loved the romance! I also loved Anne, Eve’s friend who she meet during her work as a roadie.

I loved how the story turned out. I was angry at West for a second but as Eve later said, he was caught in the web as well. I was soo proud when she finally took the initiative to stand up for herself. But I know how much tough it can be for some people. My heart goes out for them. But please know there will be always someone to help you. Don’t give up on yourself.

Overall, Shadow of a Girl was a great read! I loved the plot and the characters were mind-blowing! The romance between Eve and West was simply great. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Untitled

Sooo guys what do you think about this book? Is it already in your tbr? Are you looking forward to reading it? Share your thoughts with me!

3 thoughts on “Review: Shadow of a Girl by Shannon Greenland

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: September 2016!

Leave a Reply

