Review: The Lying Planet by Carol Riggs

Title: The Lying Planet

Author: Carol Riggs

Standalone

Genre: Sci-fi, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 285 pages, Ebook

Published: September 19th 2016 by Entangled Teen

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Promise City. That’s the colony I’ve been aiming for all my life on the planet Liberty. The only thing standing in my way? The Machine. On my eighteenth birthday, this mysterious, octopus-like device will scan my brain and Test my deeds. Good thing I’ve been focusing on being Jay Lawton, hard worker and rule follower, my whole life. Freedom is just beyond my fingertips.

Or so I thought. Two weeks before my Testing with the Machine, I’ve stumbled upon a new reality. The truth. In a single sleepless night, everything I thought I knew about the adults in our colony changes. And the only one who’s totally on my side is the clever, beautiful rebel, Peyton. Together we have to convince the others to sabotage their Testings before it’s too late.

Before the ceremonies are over and the hunting begins.


USEEEEEEEEE

This was a really an awesome read! I didn’t quite expect the way it turned out but I am glad to say I loved it! The twists and turns were quite surprising as well.

Jay has worked hard his whole life to succeed in mandatory the testing that happens to everyone once they turn eighteen. The testing places the undeserved to banishment while the ones who score good are sent off to other so called protective areas like the Promise City for their future, only no one has ever returned from those places ever. Jay stumbles upon the horrifying truth just a few days before his testing ceremony. Will the others believe him, will he be able to save them or get caught in the process?

This was a super fun and intriguing read! I wasn’t really expecting how the plot turned out but I am mighty impressed! I simply loved it! It was pretty hard to put this book down and I basically devoured it in one sitting. It’s really hard to discuss this book without spoiling so you guys have to read it to know the full truth! Jay has always been the obedient son, he has worked hard so that he can get good score in the testing and then he’ll be assigned his dream job. But one simple mischance and he stumbles upon the horrifying truth. The plot twist was really well done! I couldn’t freaking believe my eyes when I read it.

the-lying-planet7

However I felt that the characters could have been more fleshed out. I did like Jay, he was pretty brave when he decided to break the rules and find out the truth. I loved that he was loyal but I don’t know, I would have liked him a lot better if he had been just a teeny-tiny bit less cooped up.

I liked Peyton, she was the only one to believe Jay when he told his friends the truth. I understand their situation but still I would have loved I there was some more chemistry between them. Nonetheless I liked the last portion a lot, although it seemed quite sudden how everyone kinda agreed, I needed a bit more convincing but it was pretty enjoyable!

Overall, The Lying Planet was a fantastic read! I loved the plot and the story was executed neatly though the characters could have been a bit more worked out. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was fast throughout the book! I enjoyed the action and the suspense and I was on the edge while reading this book!

Recommend it?

Yes.


Untitled

Sooo guys what do you think about this book? Is it already in your tbr? Are you looking forward to reading it? Share your thoughts with me!

8 thoughts on “Review: The Lying Planet by Carol Riggs

  1. Ooh, I really like the sound of this one Poulami, I love me a plot twist too. It seems as though it’s been wonderfully written, but a shame that there isn’t more character depth or development. It probably could have used an extra few pages to flesh them out better. Really intrigued and going to check this one out. Wonderful review Poulami, really enjoyed it ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: September 2016!

Leave a Reply

