Review: Paint My Body Red by Heidi R. Kling

Title: Paint My Body Red

Author: Heidi R. Kling

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Mental Illness, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Slightly warm

Trigger Warnings: Suicide, Rape

Page Count and Format: 350 pages, Ebook

Published: November 2nd 2015 by Entangled Publishing, LLC

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. (Sudden wish granted!)

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051

Blurb (from Goodreads):

The world isn’t just black or white. Sometimes it’s red…

They think I’m next. That I’ll be the seventh kid to step in front of a train and end my life. With the rash of suicides at my school, Mom’s shipped me off to my dad’s Wyoming ranch for “my own safety.” They think I’m just another depressed teenager whose blood will end up on the tracks. They don’t know my secrets…or what I’ve done.

I wasn’t expecting Dad to be so sick, for the ranch I loved to be falling to bits, or for Jake—the cute boy I knew years ago—to have grown into a full-fledged, hot-as-hell cowboy. Suddenly, I don’t want to run anymore, but the secrets from home have found me…even here. And this time, it’s up to me to face them—and myself—if I want to live…


USEEEEEEEEE

This book was so not what I expected it to be. I kinda have mixed feelings about this book but then again I loved it as well. I didn’t read it previous year but it was on my Netgalley wish list and when I saw my wish was (literally) granted, I was pretty excited to go into this book. I earlier though that it was a paranormal-ish contemporary but it definitely wasn’t that but I liked the way the story took its turn and how everything was executed.

Paige is sent to her dad for the holiday before she joins college. It’s more than just a visit, after the string of suicides started happening in their town, Paige’s mom didn’t want her to be the next victim. Meanwhile Paige is dealing with her own demons but when she returns back to the countryside she once loved, things slowly begin to change. And then there’s Jake, the cowboy who she can’t stop thinking about. But will she be able to take a stand on her life or will everything take turn for the worse?

At my death paint my body with red paint and plunge it into fresh water to be restored back to life, otherwise my bones will be turned into stone and my joints into flint in my grave, but my spirit will rise.

―Crazy Horse

This book was so raw and realistic. And we often don’t like reality much, especially the bad side of it and this book exactly portrayed that. After Paige’s mom moved into Silicon Valley, Paige started going to a very different school than she used to. Everyone there was too competitive and the only thing they wanted was to get into a reputed university. But when things began backfiring, the suicides started. I can’t even begin to tell how much I can relate to that in day-to-days-life. It’s one of the reasons I don’t like to read newspapers much because rarely a day goes by when I don’t read that someone has committed suicide due to pressure from studies and parents and this breaks my heart so goddamn much! Why can’t people understand that there so much more to life other than getting into a reputed uni but then again believe me, I do get it. I got the backlash from my relatives when I, myself didn’t get into a super well known college but I did my best wherever I was.

Suicide is one of the leading cause of death all over the world, you are gone but the mess it leaves behind is unbearable. It once happened in our school, I can never forget that in my life. Please, it’s my earnest request, if you are having any suicidal thoughts please, please decide to take help before taking any drastic step. I know it’s hard but think before you do anything. This book deals with more than one kind of sensitive issue and both of them were handled really well. Okaaay, so I got bit sidetracked… let’s get back on, shall we?

The story is presented in alternating chapters from her past and present. It provided an additional mysterious aspect to the story and I was so curious to find out what went down with her and her stepbrother. I didn’t know what to feel when I found out their whole story, it was kind of heartbreaking. I couldn’t understand why her mother didn’t say anything earlier despite knowing everything, although she confessed later, it didn’t make it any better. I know according to Paige it was her own mess to deal with but how can a mother abandon her daughter for her own selfish reasons!! Even if Paige forgave her, I never could.

Nonetheless with Paige’s visit to her homeland, things start to better for her as well. She hasn’t seen her father in a long time and he’s in the verge of dying. But this visit helps him as well. I loved how their father daughter realtionship grew once again. Jake was  a gorgeous and swoony cowboy and I loved how he treated Paige. I loved both, Jake and Paige together a lot! But my favourite was Scout, Paige’s pony. It made me cry so bad when she had to say goodbye to her.

Overall, Paint My Body Red was a whole new different kind of read. The plot kept me intrigued from the beginning and the characters were fleshed out pretty well. I loved Paige’s character growth throughout the book. The romance between Jake and Paige was sweet and I loved it! The writing was smooth and descriptive and the pace was even throughout the book. This was definitely a bitter sweet experience after all.

Recommend it?

Yes.


UntitledSooo guys what do you think about this book? Is it already in your tbr? Are you looking forward to reading it? Or have you already? Share your thoughts with me!

3 thoughts on “Review: Paint My Body Red by Heidi R. Kling

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: September 2016!

Leave a Reply

