Interview with Shannon A. Thompson || Author of the Bad Bloods series and the Timely Death trilogy!

I recently read the Bad Bloods series and the Timely Death trilogy by Shannon A. Thompson. I loved both of the series and I had the pleasure of interviewing the author herself! Without further ado here goes…

Interview:

1. Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m a young adult, blogger, and poet, but outside of writing, I’m the neighborhood cat lady known for climbing rooftops (with my three cats), and I enjoy murder shows and baking. I grew up all over the country—I can’t even count how many times I’ve moved—but I graduated from the University of Kansas, and I currently hide out in Kansas City, Missouri.

2. Which authors were your inspiration?

The first series I remember FREAKING out about was The Magic Tree House series, probably because my brother and I were like best friends growing up (especially since we moved so much), and I loved reading a story with siblings. As I got older, I fell in love with Meg Cabot books. Her female leads were always so strong and independent and funny and confident of doing their own thing, whether that be motorcycles, bald heads, or talking to dead guys. I love her books.

3. What do you love most about writing?

Exploring new worlds and seeing what makes each character tick. There’s nothing better than a character finally revealing a secret you’ve been dying to know yourself. It feels like making a new best friend.

4. Which character did you enjoy writing most till now?

It’s so hard to choose one character over another! I really can’t pick.

5. If you could spend time with only one of the character from the Timely Death trilogy or the Bad Bloods, who would you choose and why?

In The Timely Death Trilogy, I’d hang out with Pierce, hands down. He’s so insightful but doesn’t let it destroy his humor. I think quiet types never get enough attention for how much they bring to the table. Everything they’ve ever observed from the sidelines is important and vital for survival.

In Bad Bloods, I really love Daniel, but I’m not sure I would want to hang out with him. He’s a walking panic attack. So, I’d probably choose Violet. She’s sassy, independent, and a little bit scary. She walks on the wild side. And I’m super looking forward to spending more time with her in the sequel, Bad Bloods: July Thunder. She will tell half of the novel.

6. What was the most challenging aspect you faced while writing the Timely Death trilogy and the Bad Bloods?

The Timely Death Trilogy was a mess from the beginning. It was one of those novels that I tackled way too soon with few tools in my pocket. For example, I actually wrote it backward. I wrote book 2 first, and realized it didn’t make sense without a book before it, so book 1 happened. Overcoming my lack of organization was the hardest with that trilogy.

In Bad Bloods, the most difficult part was—by far—the large cast. I know how many people wanted me to cut it down, but in the end, I simply couldn’t. Each character matters, and each character’s death or survival is symbolic in some way to the city and political structures. I try to tell people to tackle the cast like symbols rather than people, even though they are, of course, people. Example? Let’s take Tessa from the Northern Flock. Her powers allow her to grow and kill plants, but there’s a passage that talks about how every time she revives a plant, it dies twice as fast as it did the first time. This is more or less discussing the tragedy between the original flocks and the two new flocks that stem out of the past. That being said, these symbols are much clearer during a second or third read. So, the book is designed to be read more than once, especially as sequels release.

7. Name a few of your favourite books.

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Creamer. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. All Ally Carter books. And Billy Collins. And Poe.

8. What is your advice for aspiring authors?

Remember why you write. Publishing is a difficult journey to take, even after you have an agent or you’re published. It sounds obvious enough to say remember how much you love writing, but you can get lost. You will get down. You might even feel like giving up, but don’t. Walk away. Take a trip to the bookstore. Writing something terrible that gives you no pressure to ever be published. Read a book. Breathe. Then, get back up and try again. Fall in love with writing over and over again.


Purchase Links:

25996145
My review
Amazon || Barnes & Noble || iBooks || Smashwords ||  Kobo || Goodreads

26345720

My Review
Amazon || Barnes & Noble || iBooks || Smashwords || Kobo || Goodreads

26489588

My Review
Amazon || Barnes & Noble || iBooks || Smashwords || Kobo || Goodreads

28965354

My Review
Amazon || Barnes & Noble || iBooks || Kobo || Smashwords || Goodreads

28965353

My Review
Amazon || Barnes & Noble || iBooks || Kobo || Smashwords || Goodreads


Author Bio:

a11ztz0bml-_sy200_Shannon A. Thompson is a young adult author, avid reader, and a habitual chatterbox.

As a novelist, poet, and blogger, Thompson spends her free time writing and sharing ideas with her black cat, Bogart, named after her favorite actor, Humphrey Bogart. Her other two cats bring her coffee. Between writing and befriending cats, Thompson graduated from the University of Kansas with a bachelor’s degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing, and her work has appeared in numerous poetry collections and anthologies. Represented by Clean Teen Publishing, Thompson is the best-selling author of The Timely Death Trilogy and the Bad Bloods duology. When she is not writing, she is climbing rooftops, baking cookies, or watching murder shows in the middle of the night, often done with her cats by her side.

Visit her blog for writers and readers at http://www.ShannonAThompson.com.

Author Links:

Website || Twitter || Facebook


Untitled

So guys did you enjoy the interview? I sure hope you did!

Have you read any of the series written by this author? If yes, how was your experience? If not yet, then do you want to? Are these books already in your tbr? Share your thoughts with me!

One thought on “Interview with Shannon A. Thompson || Author of the Bad Bloods series and the Timely Death trilogy!

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: September 2016!

Leave a Reply

