Review: PLAY by Piper Lawson

Title: PLAY

Author: Piper Lawson

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Pretty warm

Page Count and Format: 200 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: September 14th 2016

Purchase Link: Amazon

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558321867

Blurb (from Goodreads):

I’m Payton Blake. A successful, balanced twenty-something living the dream.

OK. So it’s a big, shiny-ass lie.

I could be all of those things. If I had friends outside of work. And if I didn’t mainline watermelon slushies like they were a food group. It wouldn’t hurt if I’d had sex in the last year, either. (My best friend insists Jorge the Nightstand Boyfriend doesn’t count.)

But when you know where you’re headed, who needs to enjoy the ride? Even if part of me longed for a little between-the-sheets adventure, Max Donovan would be the last guy I’d call.

Sure, he made the indie video game that broke the internet. His eyebrow piercing’s sexy, in an ‘are-you-in-a-band?’ kind of way, and fighting with him gets me off faster than Jorge on bezerker mode. But he’s arrogant. Presumptuous. Colder than a cactus and twice as prickly. And I’m not talking about his face, because the guy’s barely old enough to shave.

None of it changes the fact that I crave Max Donovan like a watermelon slushy on a hot summer day.

I should ignore him. But I can’t, because he just became my biggest client. And whether he’ll admit it or not, he needs me even more than I need him.

So what happens when the girl who lives to work goes head-to-head with the guy who was born to PLAY?

Game on, Max Donovan.


USEEEEEEEEE

Piper Lawson has done it once again! PLAY was so much fun! It was a great ride from the very beginning. And I loved every moments of it.

Payton just got a promotion but she is not that thrilled because now she has to face the constant competition of Avery, one of her colleagues. On top of that she has been assigned to Max, her new client and she has to win this deal if she wants to stay put. And Max is not someone who is easy to deal with. But even with his attitude Payton can’t seem to stop thinking about him. They are both surprised when sparks fly between them. Can something actually happen between two people so different from each other?

I enjoyed the plot very much! It was a light-hearted and a fun read. Payton works at a firm where they offer loans for developing companies and if she manages to finalize the deal with Max who is the creator of a very popular video game and he is making another one to top that list, then she might have a shot at winning the bonus which she desperately needs. But dealing with Max is not an easy task as she thought it would be. I loved how the story was executed, there was not a single dull moment. I liked the banter between them, it was so much fun to read about. I also loved how their relationship slowly developed and the chemistry between them was undeniable.

Payton was a great character, but she loved to stay in control and Max was the complete opposite, he didn’t have any idea about the day or time if he immersed himself in working or playing a video game. But when they started to look past their walls they discover they have some things in common that they thought was impossible. I loved their moments at Comic Con and the way Max confessed was so, so great! It melted my heart.

I don’t have a single complaint about this book. I enjoyed reading about the other characters as well. Charlie was a great friend to Payton and I loved their friendship. I also loved how Charlie pulled pranks on Avery at every chance she got because he bothered her best friend. Though I am actually hoping to see something between them because it was actually fun to see how they reacted.

Overall, PLAY was a fantastic read! The plot was thoroughly entertaining from the beginning and the characters were pretty awesome as well. I loved Payton and Max and I absolutely enjoyed the romance between them. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. Seriously, she is one of the best NA authors ever and an inspiration to me. I can’t wait to read more books by her in the future.

Recommend it?

Yes!


Excerpt:

“You forgot to give me feedback.” I hovered a few feet from Max’s desk, waiting.

He lifted a shoulder under the tight t-shirt, sparing me the briefest glance before turning back to his computer. “It didn’t light me on fire.”

The stab of disappointment was real. I’d spent hours working on that presentation. Days.

“Lighting you on fire isn’t my job,” I reminded him coolly.

Max turned to rest his irritated gaze on me. “Feeding your ego isn’t my job. You wanted my opinion, and I gave it to you. I treat you exactly like anyone else who works at Titan.”

Max’s apartment was empty except for us, and silent but for the low chords bleeding through the sound system. “Do you seriously believe that? If you do, you’re the only one.”

He stilled, eyes narrowing. “What the hell is that supposed to mean?”

“Never mind. I’m out of here.”

“Payton.” The sharpness had me stopping next to the pool table.

Max crossed the office until he was on top of me. His body blocked the overhead light, making his taut expression even darker. His smell, woodsy with a little spice underneath, invaded my senses.

“What?” My retort was breathy.

I remembered how his hands had felt on my neck. He could be patient, gentle.

He wasn’t now. Dark brows drew together on his face, a mask of frustration. But that mouth…

His mouth was just parted, revealing the curve of that lip he liked to brush as if he didn’t know it killed me.

Fuck, I wanted to bite it.

Hard.

Max reached out a hand, his fingers sliding into my hair near my scalp. A rush of pleasure coursed through my body.

I wanted to watch his face but couldn’t help the way my eyelids started to drift shut, my lips parting as his hand moved through the waves hanging loose at my back.

Until I felt him tug the ends, hard enough to make me gasp as my eyes flew open.

Max wasn’t as unaffected as he pretended to be. I knew it from the way his black pupils had taken over his eyes, the way a muscle twitched in his jaw.

Boldness surged through me as I found my voice.

“What game are we playing now, Max?” I taunted.

His mouth crushed down on mine.

Every thought ran out of me until I was empty, like the open can of Riley’s energy drink I’d spilled earlier. I couldn’t think. Only feel Max’s mouth, firm and a little desperate as it moved over mine.

His tongue pressed against the seam of my lips until I opened on a shallow breath. He tasted like mint and something darker as his hands gripped my hips, pulling me to him so his thick erection pressed against my thigh.

Max Donovan was the guy who made me tear my hair out, and work my ass off, and put new batteries in my vibe. He also kissed me like he had a right to do it, his arms hard and unyielding around me.

I reached a shaky hand up to touch the side of his face, determined to push him away.

Or pull him closer.


Untitled

So guys, how many of you are excited for PLAY? Is it already in your tbr? Have you read any previous books by her? Share your experience with me!

5 thoughts on “Review: PLAY by Piper Lawson

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: September 2016!

Leave a Reply

