Review: The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day

Title: The Possibility of Somewhere

Author: Julia Day

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Slightly warm

Page Count and Format: 320 pages, Ebook

Published: September 6th 2016 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Ash Gupta is having an amazing senior year, hanging out with his tight circle of friends and cranking out the grades his wealthy, immigrant Asian-Indian parents expect. A model student in every way, Ash is on track to earn every school honor there is… except one. It looks as if valedictorian will go to the anti-social, foul-mouthed girl who has been a thorn in his side throughout high school, and that’s just not a part of Ash’s—or his parents’—plan.

Eden Moore’s biggest goal is to escape the poverty that haunts her family. When she’s not babysitting a special needs boy, managing the high school website, or attending classes, she’s studying her ass off. Her perfect GPA should be enough to win her the class valedictorian title, and with it, an endorsement for the full-ride Peyton Scholarship. Eden’s sure this is her chance to get out of her dead-end town and her trailer-park life for good, until she discovers that the arrogant, rich Ash also wants the title and the scholarship that will come along with it—for the prestige.

To both of their surprise, when Eden and Ash are forced to work together on a school project, sparks fly. As they spend more time together, antagonism changes to romance. They start a secret relationship, even though they’re on opposite sides of nearly every social hierarchy their friends and families can imagine—race, class, social status.

Can they put all that behind them and start something real?


USEEEEEEEEE

I was really excited for this book and I literally squealed when I saw I was granted access to this one in Netgalley. Although it did have it ups and downs but I enjoyed it mostly. I’m so glad I got to read this one!

Ash and Eden has always been competitive with each other. When they are paired with each other in a school project, they both can’t deny the chemistry between them. But both of them are fighting to reach the same goal- the Peyton scholarship which’ll help them to reach their ultimate goals. But that’s not the only thing standing between them, class and social status is a big issue among their families as well. Will they be able to salvage their relationship or will it get destroyed in the process?

I enjoyed the plot! And I loved the diverse factor. We rarely get to see an Indian as the main protagonist and being an Indian myself I was really excited for this book. Ash belongs to a high class Indian family whereas Eden lives in a trailer. But that doesn’t mean they were different from each other, in fact they were more similar to each other. Competitive, passionate are the right words to describe both of them. Nonetheless I loved the chemistry between them. I love forbidden romance (everyone knows that by now!) and I really enjoyed it here. And the romance between them was quite hot!

I thought I was going to like Ash more (yeah I can be biased sometimes!) but I ended up liking Eden more! Eden’s life at home wasn’t very good. Her family was barely keeping it up. I didn’t like her dad at all but her step-mom was the best! I loved her relationship with Eden. I also loved her relationship with Kurt, the kid she babysit-ted, he inspired Eden to be a special ed. teacher in the future and I loved her take on that subject, I was actually beaming with pride when she stood up and made his teacher understand what the actual problem was. She was a pretty hard worker and I admired her for that.

I did like Ash but he lost major points when he didn’t stand up to his parents for Eden. I mean I could understand how overachieving and judgy some families can be, especially the too rich and classy Indians (I have had enough experience with that kind, trust me) but still he should have said something at least. I really, really hated how his parents viwed Eden because of her class and I felt especially bad because of how true it was. It’s a pretty common phenomenon here and I hate it soooo freaking much!! Nonetheless, though Ash made up for it but I think if the ending scene would have reversed from Ash’s side, I would have liked it more but I forgave him because of that.

Overall, The Possibility of Somewhere was a great read! I loved the plot and enjoyed the story from the very beginning, the characters were pretty good as well. I absolutely loved the romance between Ash and Eden and loved how everything proceeded. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. I am excited to read more from this author in the future!

Recommend it?

Yes!


Untitled

Sooo guys what do you think about this book? Do you want to read this book? Is it already in your tbr?  Share your thoughts with me!

5 thoughts on “Review: The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: September 2016!

Leave a Reply

