Review: Under a Million Stars by Rita Branches || Blog Tour + Giveaway!

Under a Million Stars tour banner
Welcome to my tour stop of Under a Million Stars by Rita Branches hosted by YA Bound Book Tours. You can view the full tour schedule here.


Title: Under a Million Stars

Author: Rita Branches

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Slightly warm

Page Count and Format: 263 pages, Ebook

Published: August 8th 2016

Source: I received an eARC of this book from YA Bound Book Tours for the blog tour in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Can a beating heart bleed from the shattered pieces?

Her heart cracked when her best friend walked away; it completely shattered when she lost her family in a tragic accident.

Now orphaned at seventeen, Charlotte Peterson is forced to live with her former best friend, Jacob Parker. Charlie, a talented pianist, desperately wants their loving friendship back, but something is holding Jake back. The more she spirals into the darkness of depression, the more she needs him.

Jacob vowed to stay away from her—no matter how much he still loved her. Armed with secrets that would have destroyed both of their families, he chose to end their friendship and walk away, which nearly killed him. As he watches the girl he once knew begin to fade away, however, he realizes that their relationship is more important than the truth he’s hiding.

Now it’s up to Jacob to put the pieces of Charlie’s broken heart back together—even if it means revealing the secrets he so desperately wants to protect her from.
Will Jacob find a way to bring back the carefree, talented girl he once knew, or is it too late for both of them?


USEEEEEEEEE

This book was an emotional roller coaster. I loved the story from the beginning till the end and I loved every bits of it. You can also check out my review of Painting Sky, her debut novel, here.

Charlie and Jacob used to be best friends but one day Jacob walked away from her without any explanation. Now Charlie has lost her whole family in an accident and Jacob’s family has been appointed her guardian and she is forced to live with Jacob under the same roof. Jacob notices that Charlie is slowly spiraling out of control and if he doesn’t do anything he might end up loosing her. Despite the reason why he walked away from her, he decides to bring the old Charlie back but what will happen when the devastating truth comes out?

I definitely liked the plot and it had one of my favourite romantic tropes, best friends to lovers. This was a story of second chances and I loved how it was executed. Charlie and Jacob had been best friends forever but he ended their friendship one day without giving any reason or explanation. Now, when they are forced to live under the same roof, Jacob notices how much the accident of her family has affected her. He buries the secret that tore them apart and decides to help Charlie as much as possible. I liked the big reveal although I had guessed it when I was halfway through the book but it was definitely handled well.

Charlie was a great character but she held herself responsible for her family’s death. I could sympathize with her condition and I felt so, so bad for her. I liked her relationship with Jacob, even after he hurt her so much, she still trusted him. Jacob came as plain rude at first but then I could see how much staying away from Charlie was tearing him apart as well. It was definitely not right for their parents to take that decision on their behalf even after knowing how much it would hurt them, it was downright selfish. Nonetheless, I loved the chemistry between Charlie and Jacob and I definitely enjoyed the romance.

Overall, Under a Million Stars was a great read. I loved the plot and the characters and the story successfully kept me engaged from the very beginning. I loved the romance between Charlie and Jacob. The writing was beautiful and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. I can’t wait to read more books by this author.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Author Bio:
rita branchesHi! I’m Rita Branches. I was born and raised in in Portugal and I’m going to independently publish my debut novel in the Spring of 2016, Painting Sky.

I am so happy that you decided to take a look at my work.

Little bit about myself: along with being a writer, I am also a landscape architect. I started writing to bring ‘to life’ the stories that my mind created.

I LOVE to read. It was and always will be my passion.

Author Links:

Website || Twitter || Facebook || Goodreads

Purchase Link:

Amazon


Giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Untitled

So guys what did you think about this book? Do you want to give this a try or have you already? How has been your experience so far? Have you read Painting Sky by this author? Share your thoughts with me!

7 thoughts on “Review: Under a Million Stars by Rita Branches || Blog Tour + Giveaway!

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: August 2016!

Leave a Reply

