Review: Defying Gravity by Kendra C. Highley

Title: Defying Gravity

Author: Kendra C. Highley

Series: Finding Perfect, book 2 [Can be read as a standalone]

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 191 pages, Ebook

Published: July 25th 2016 by Entangled: Crush

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Disclaimer: This book contains enough sexual tension to melt snow, the hottest near-kiss in the history of near-kisses, and a sexy snowboarder determined to win the heart of the girl he loves.

Zoey Miller lives for her holidays in Aspen. Her time up on the mountain with the Madison brothers, Parker and Luke, is everything. But for the first time, it’s not enough. This time, she’s determined to win one of the brothers’ hearts.

But the brother she has in mind is a renowned player, with hordes of snow-bunnies following him around Snowmass resort. And the other…well, he’s her best friend and knows she deserves better. Namely him. And he’s going to win her heart.


USEEEEEEEEE

This book was perfect! But I have to admit, at first I was confused if I wanted to read it or not because this book had my most hated trope. Yup! You got it- the love triangle! But surprisingly it was a pretty fun and refreshing read and I ended up loving it!

*A little spoilery!*

Zoey Miller comes back to Aspen during the holidays to spend her time with her two best friends since childhood. But this time she wants to make Luke realise her feelings for him but on the other hand Parker, who is about the same age as her wants to confess his feelings for her. Zoey’s heart gets entangled in the mess. Will she be able to realise who’s Mr. Right for her?

I loved how the plot was handled! The Miller and the Madison family has been friends forever, even after moving to a different city, the Miller family comes back to celebrate every holiday together. But this time they have all grown up. Zoey decides to confess her long time crush on Parker’s elder brother, Luke. But Parker and Zoey has been best friends forever but Zoey is devoid of the fact about Parker’s feelings. When the brothers confront each other, Luke offers a proposal that Parker couldn’t deny. I don’t think he had a chance when Luke told he would win her away but Parker knew that would eventually hurt Zoey because Luke never settled for anyone particular, so he agreed to the deal.

I loved how both the brothers tried to win her! It was pretty fun to read about. But it was crystal clear from the start who actually cared about Zoey and who was just playing for fun. I was rooting for Parker from the very beginning! I loved their friendship so much which ultimately led to great chemistry between them! I liked the setting of this story so much, plus the snow boarding aspect made it more fun!

Zoey was a great character but yes, she got a little irritating sometimes, I also didn’t like how she was biased towards Luke, nonetheless I was so glad when she began to have conflicting feelings. Parker was a total sweetheart, he was protective of Zoey (in a good way!) and cared about her so, so much. Luke on the other hand was not much of a favourite. I also loved the family aspect in this book, both the Miller and the Madison family were so great! I particularly loved the moms!

Overall, Defying Gravity was a great read! The plot kept me interested from the beginning and the characters were pretty awesome as well! I really enjoyed the chemistry between Zoey and Parker and I enjoyed this story so much! The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. I wanted to read the first book in this series so badly but I never got the chance but now that I have read this book, I am dying to read that one as well!

Recommend it?

Yes!


Untitled

So guys, have you read this book yet or do you want to? What do you think about this book in general? If you have read it, then what did you think about it? Share your thoughts with me!

12 thoughts on “Review: Defying Gravity by Kendra C. Highley

  1. Glad to hear that you enjoyed this book! I’m VERY hesitant about picking up books with a blatant love triangle, so I tend to stay away from them unless they have other things that I’m looking for… but it sounds like this book managed to avoid the worst of it and actually handled the trope well. Hope you enjoy the first book in the series just as much! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: August 2016!

Leave a Reply

