Review: Painting Sky by Rita Branches

Title: Painting Sky

Author: Rita Branches

Series: Painting Sky, book 1 [Can be read as a standalone]

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 306 pages, Ebook

Published: April 25th 2016 by Rita Branches

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Nobody ever said life was easy…

People pleaser, Jane Skylar wants nothing more than to earn her art degree, start her life, and bask in the bliss of living with her boyfriend.

But things don’t always go as planned…

Struggling with her creative side, Jane finds herself in turmoil, often confiding in her roommate – another, more talented art student, Keith Hale. Keith just so happens to be her boyfriend’s older, brooding brother. After a devastating breakup, Jane turns to Keith for comfort. But when the lines blur between roommate and lover, Jane’s life becomes more complicated than ever before.

When Keith’s past comes back to haunt him, their lives all get turned upside down, forcing the truth to surface. Now Jane must fight for what she wants- even if it hurts everyone she loves.


PicsArt_1443945753901

First of all, the cover is what drew me to the book in the first place. It’s so freaking beautiful guys! And it kind of holds an appropriate meaning for the book as well. Painting Sky was a good read, though I expected a little more from it but I was satisfied in the end.

Jane or Sky as Keith calls her, has been the one who has abide by the rules all her life. She comes to stay with her boyfriend Cody who shares the house with his brother Keith along with her own brother as well. She has never gotten along with Keith but this time something seems different, but Cody has always been the one for her yet she finds uncomfortable crossing the intimate level with him and she also notices that he’s not the same anymore. After the devastating breakup happens, she finds herself turning to Keith for comfort. It’s not long before she finds herself falling for the wrong brother but she knows he’ll end up destroying her.

The plot was nothing new but I definitely enjoyed the way it was executed in this book. Though I have to admit the first half of this book felt draggy as practically nothing was happening but the story picked up its speed from the second half and I really liked it. Sky has always been the good girl but she’s finally rebels by choosing art as her subject in college, the subject that she wanted to study. She’s doing okay in every class except one and Keith being an art student offers his help. I liked the friendship between them, though it can’t be exactly called that because the tension was palpable from the beginning but I definitely liked how Keith helped Sky. Those were some pretty amazing moments and I loved the chemistry between them. The scenes in the art classroom was pretty humorous and I really enjoyed them!

I liked Sky, though I think she was an okay protagonist, I would have liked to see more layers of her. Nonetheless, Keith was quite mysterious and I liked him from the beginning. I loved it so much when Sky really began understanding Keith. I felt so freaking bad about him,not even his mother cared about him, Cody was their golden boy. I wish Sky would have told what Cody did to both the families when she went to visit on the holidays. They were unessential cruel to him. Although this book ended in a positive note, I would have liked to see the feud end for Keith and his family accepting him. I was quite shocked to see Ryan, Sky’s brother’s reaction at the end, I don’t know how he could do that to Keith considering he is his best friend. I hope we get to know more about this in the next book which is about Ryan.

Overall, Painting Sky was a good read! Although the plot was predictable, I liked how it spanned out. The characters were interesting and I loved the romance between Keith and Sky. The writing was smooth and easy to read. I definitely hope to read more works of this author in the future,

Recommend it?

Yes.


Guys, have you read Painting Sky or are you waiting to? If yes, then what did you think about it? Share your thoughts with me!

8 thoughts on “Review: Painting Sky by Rita Branches

  1. The cover is stunning! It sort of reminds me of Kate Mortan’s The Lake House. That’s too bad the beginning was on the dull side; I’ve had a lot of those recently. If only more books were engaging from the beginning, sigh. Also, Keith sounds like such a sad character. It’s a shame the family dynamic aspect didn’t venture into the theme of acceptance though. That would have probably been nice reprieve for readers that grew to feel sympathetic towards Keith. Anyway, nice review, Poulami!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- July 2016!
  3. Pingback: Review: Under a Million Stars by Rita Branches || Blog Tour + Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

