Review: True Calling- The Short Story Collection by Siobhan Davis

Title: True Calling- The Short Story Collection

Author: Siobhan Davis

Series: True Calling, book 4

Genre: Dystopia, Sci-fi, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: A little warm

Page Count and Format: 87 pages, Ebook

Published: 9th July, 2016

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051

Blurb (from Goodreads):

This short story collection contains bonus stories set in the True Calling world, including:

Torn Apart – narrated by Cal Remus, this story explains what happens to Cal at the end of True Calling.

Endings and Beginnings – narrated by Anneka Skyee.

Perfect Moment – this story is set two years after the end chapter of Destiny Rising. Join all your favorite characters as they celebrate a very special wedding.

Under the Mistletoe – this story follows the main characters at Christmas, and it’s set four years after the epilogue in Destiny Rising. This story is the lead-in to The Skyee Siblings spin-off series.

NOTE: You should only read this collection after you have read Destiny Rising, the final book in the series.


This book reminded me how much I loved and enjoyed the True Calling series. Here are the links to my reviews of the True Calling series- True Calling (book 1), Beyond Reach (book 2), Light of a Thousand Stars (book 2.5), Destiny Rising (book 3).

Torn Apart- This book was from Cal’s POV which narrated the incident about how he was seperated from Ari at the end of the first book, i.e. True Calling. I definitely enjoyed reading from his perspective. I was not a big fan of Cal in book 1 but he slowly made his way to my heart by the end of the third book, so I could understand what he was feeling.

 Endings and Beginnings- This story was narrated by Ari’s mom which tells us what went down between her, Nate (Cal’s dad) and Malcom (Ari’s dad). This was different but I definitely liked it but it was so heartbreaking to see what happened between them.

Perfect Moment- This was probably my favourite. I had already read this when I finished Destiny Rising but I loved reading it again! I absolutely love Zane and I was so glad to see him finally move on and find love again. Also Ari’s official wedding was fun to read about.

Under the Mistletoe- This story takes place after 2 years after the incidents of Destiny Rising. I loved seeing all the characters grown up and settled in their lives but what intrigued me was Lily and Deacon, Ari’s younger siblings, they were definitely not themselves and I’m soo glad we are getting a spin-off series about them! Can’t wait to read it!

Overall, The Short Story Collection was pretty awesome! It was a quick read and I enjoyed every moment of it. It felt great to be back in this world and it’s also one of the books that executed the love triangle perfectly! I hate… wait I loath them but this series was definitely an exception. The writing was smooth and perfect and I can’t wait to read more by this author.

Recommend it?

Definitely yes!

So guys, have you read the True Calling series yet? Do you want to? And if yes, how was youe experience so far? Share your thoughts with me!


3 thoughts on “Review: True Calling- The Short Story Collection by Siobhan Davis

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- July 2016!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s