Review: Up in the Treehouse by K.K. Allen

Title: Up in the Treehouse

Author: K.K. Allen

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 335 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: 19th July, 2016

Source: I received an eARC of this book from IndieSage PR in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

I wanted to tell him all my secrets, but he became one of them instead.

Chloe Rivers never thought she would keep secrets from her best friend. Then again, she never imagined she would fall in love with him either. When she finally reveals her feelings, rejection shatters her, rendering her vulnerable and sending her straight into the destructive arms of the wrong guy.

Gavin Rhodes never saw the betrayal coming. It crushes him. Chloe has always been his forbidden fantasy–sweet, tempting, and beautiful. But when the opportunity finally presents itself, he makes the biggest mistake of all and denies her.

Now it’s too late . . .

Four years after a devastating tragedy, Chloe and Gavin find themselves crashing back into each other’s lives. Haunted by the past, they’re forced to come to terms with all that has transpired to find the peace they deserve. Except they can’t seem to get near each other without combatting an intense emotional connection that brings them right back to where it all started . . . their childhood treehouse.

Chloe still holds her secrets close, but this time she isn’t the only one with something to hide. Can their deep-rooted connection survive the destruction of innocence?


PicsArt_1443945753901

When I read the blurb, I immediately jumped at the opportunity to read this because it sounded exactly like the kind of books I love to devour and thankfully, it proved to be so.

Chloe always had her eyes for Gavin since they became friends when they moved in to their neighbourhood but when Gavin panics and rejects  Chloe, she ends up falling for the wrong brother. But then a tragedy strikes which changes their entire lives and Chloe leaves town. After four years, she comes back but every time Gavin sees her, it brings back the memories of that haunted night which changed their lives entirely but he can’t stay away from her either. Can something be ever possible between them?

I love this kind of angsty storyline! Gavin and Chloe had always been friends until that one fateful night that changed their lives and Chloe decided to go away. I loved reading those chapters and diary entries that showed what exactly happened and went wrong all those years ago. I understood Chloe’s pain and suffering but she blamed herself for what went down when it wasn’t her fault at all. I hated Gavin’s hot and cold attitude at first and when he continued to do it for sometime, I honestly wanted to bang his head. It took Chloe a lot of courage to give him her diary so that he could understand her part of the story as well and I really loved her for that.

Chloe was a great character, I could understand what she went through and she also knew that going away four years ago was wrong and she was ready to fight for it but Gavin really made me angry sometimes but I’m glad when he understood that he was not the only one who was suffering. Nonetheless I loved their chemistry and I definitely enjoyed the romance between Gavin and Chloe. I could estimate that a plot twist was coming but I ever saw the plot twist in the plot twist! Nonetheless, I liked how the whole conflict was finally resolved.

Overall, Up in the Treehouse was a great read! The plot flowed out neatly and I enjoyed the characters. The romance was pretty great. The writing was smooth and the pace was even throughout the book. This book was an emotional ride which I enjoyed very much.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So guys, do you want to read this book? What do you think about it? Share your thoughts with me!

7 thoughts on “Review: Up in the Treehouse by K.K. Allen

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- July 2016!

Leave a Reply

