Monthly Wrap Up: June 2016!

PicsArt_1446311129201

Helloooo there people!

Sooo another month flew by! Can you believe we are already halfway through 2016! It’s crazy! Nonetheless, bookishly this month was okay, I did have some great reads but many turned out to be just okay or simply meh! So, here are the list!

Books I’ve read this month (Link to Goodreads):

1. All the Feels by Danika Stone– This was a cute read although some parts did feel a bit too much sometimes otherwise the all fandom craziness was pretty nice to read about.

2. Lessons of the Heart by Jodie Larson– Eh… this book was meh! And kind of weird. Although I love forbidden romance, it’s my most favorite trope but I felt it wasn’t done alright in this book due to which it ultimately failed to impress me.

3. Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh– This was very different and one that I liked. It dealt with the life of pre-historic people, similar to that of Ice Age and it was pretty interesting.

4. The Secret Life of a Dream Girl by Tracy Deebs– Oh this was sooo cute! I loved this one. The characters were so great as well as the romance!

5. Finding London by Ellie Wade– It was okay read for me this month. I can’t totally deny that I didn’t enjoy it cause I did but there were some portions which just didn’t sit well with me.

6. Say Something by T.A. Roth– This was an engaging read, I loved the characters and how the story flowed out and I really, really need the next because because of that cliffeeeee!!

7. The Curse of Damini by Debajani Mohanty– This was a powerful read, it dealt with the condition of the women in India before its Independence till the current timeline. And it was also entangled with a mysterious aspect which made the story an interesting read.

8. Just a Girl by Ellie Cahill– Another okay read for me. Although the plot had potential but it didn’t Β live up to my expectations. The decisions of the main protagonist was getting on my nerves and sometimes it was too much.

9. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas– Do I need to say anything for this one because it was freaking awesome! I NEED THE NEXT BOOK NOW!!

10. Turning Grace by J.Q. Davis– My first zombie read. I think. I enjoyed this book except the zombishly eating habits of the main protagonist which was EW! Nonetheless, I’m definitely interested in continuing with this series.

11. Life After Juliet by Shannon Lee Alexander– Another cute read! *sighs* This book was pretty great and I loved each and every aspect of this book plus it had a whole lot of awesome characters!

12. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare– I LOVED this one! It was so great and exciting. At first I was reading this a bit slowly and then I couldn’t stop and finished it in 2 days! I’m currently reading the last one in this series and I’m loving it so far. I can’t believe I’ll finally finish this series! This thought is exciting as well as sad because I love this series sooo much and I don’t want it to end!

13. The Masterpiecers by Olivia Wildenstein– This was a very, very different read but it was pretty unique as well which made it intriguing and I definitely want to see where the next book takes me!

14. Change Places with Me by Lois Metzger– This was a weird read, I didn’t get much of what was happening. I’ll talk more about it in the review next month.

15. Running Back To Him by Evelyn Rosado– I loved this one. It had the best friends to lovers trope which is my second favourite trope and I loved the characters and how the story was executed.


Books I’ve reviewed this month (Link to my review):

4/5 stars

Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

The Secret Life of a Dream Girl by Tracy Deebs

Say Something by T.A. Roth

The Curse of Damini by Debajani Mohanty

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Life After Juliet by Shannon Lee Alexander

3/5 stars

All the Feels by Danika Stone

Finding London by Ellie Wade

Just a Girl by Ellie Cahill

Turning Grace by J.Q. Davis

The Masterpiecers by Olivia Wildenstein

2/5 stars

Lessons of the Heart by Jodie Larson


Other Staff-

  • I also shared an excerpt of Change Places with Me by Lois Metzger as a part of the blog tour.

Life Updates-

I shared a bit of what was happening in my life inΒ this post. Other than that everything is going okay, I have started studying again and it actually feels good. And well… life’s going on. πŸ™‚

Oh and I’ve also decided to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo this July. Although I do have a big exam this month but I’ll have exams regularly now so I just have to create some time to continue writing. This will be my first time and I’m freaking nervous as well as a bit excited. Any other newbies like me?


PicsArt_1451304816592

20160630_205656

I have waited for Illuminae for sooo long because the price was crazy high for this book and I coudn’t buy it but the price lowered a bit just for one day, I was so freaking lucky I checked Amazon at 3 am that night otherwise I would have missed this deal. I kind of shrieked! Very loudly. (I might just have woke up the neighbours!)Β But c’mon I was ecstatic! πŸ˜€ And I haven’t read any books by Emery Lord yet but I always wanted to. So figured it was time to start with When We Collided. And the rest of the three books-Β Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, Half Bad by Sally Green and This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales are graduation presents from my parents and of couse I gifted myself as well! πŸ˜›


Aaaaand that’s a wrap up! ❀

So guys, how was your month? Was it bookishly great or just okay? Leave a link to your wrap up post and I’ll be sure to visit! Or you can let me know in the comments!

Oh and who’s participating Camp NaNoWriMo this July? Any newbies like me?

See you guys in the next post!

29 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up: June 2016!

  1. I wanna check out Ivory and Bone so badly! It sounds so interesting! Wish you luck for CampNaNoWriMo I wish I was able to participate this round but sadly that would be too much for me to do this month lol. I loved When We Collided so I hope you enjoy it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gah! I’m so glad you enjoyed City of Lost Souls!

    I just finished Say Something and DAMN! That cliffhanger. I’m fortunate to have Say Nothing read to go for the weekend πŸ˜‰

    Currently in the middle of ACOMAF and really enjoying it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it was pretty great and City of Heavenly Fire is pretty intense from the very beginning!

      Ah, you are so lucky, can’t wait to hear your thoughts about it.

      That’s awesome! The ending is mind-blowing that’ll leave you craving for more. Hope you love it as much as I did! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. YAY for Illuminae! I read this last month and loved loved loved it I hope you do to! I need to read when we collide, I’ve read open road summer by Emery lord and loved it so I can’t wait to get into her other books πŸ™‚ Also ACOMAF was everything, how are we expected to function until we find out what happens next πŸ˜„

    Good luck in camp nanowrimo I won’t be in it this month but I plan to do it again soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amazon has this really crazy system to shower upon us deals at the most odd of hours. πŸ˜„

    I remember when I bought The Goldfinch by Donna Tart at Rs. 200 while it’s some Rs. 700 in MRP
    I had this thing, I had to let the world know about my conquest! Huzzzahh! πŸ™‚
    Also, a great post and Good Luck with NaNoWriMo πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’d say this is a pretty fantastic reading and blogging month, Poulami! Good luck on your exam this month, and I hope you enjoy NaNoWriMo. I’m sure it’ll be lots of fun and great motivation for you to not think about other stuff that’s been troubling you. And haha, personally, I’m not much of writer. I did try when I was younger and finished a book, but, alas, I don’t think it’s no longer for me. I’ll stick with reading the work of others. :3 Have a wonderful July. Happy reading, writing, and blogging! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I did have some great reads! Thanks for both. Writing is really working out for me, I’m enjoying and it’s a great distraction as well! I kind of already reached my goal of 15K so I’m thinking of increasing the word count. Hope it works out for me.
      And same to you Summer! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

