Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Saraj J. Maas

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, book 2

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Retelling, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 624 pages, Paperback

Published: May 3rd 2016 by Bloomsbury Childrens Books

Source: Purchased

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Feyre is immortal.

After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Faerie Queen, she returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But Feyre cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people – nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

As Feyre is drawn ever deeper into Rhysand’s dark web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil far greater than any queen threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate.

She must surrender her heart to heal a world torn in two.


PicsArt_1443945753901

Ooookay, so first of all, my ship saaaaailed!

(I’m sorry, I couldn’t control plus I can’t stop laughing!)

But honestly guys, HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO SURVIVE AFTER HOW EVERYTHING ENDED!! I need the next book now! *sighs*

Anyway… this book was everything! I loved it so soo much! Feyre is back with Tamlin in the Spring Court but she knows she can never be the same again after what happened in Under the Mountains. Everything feels different and she’s suffocating until Rhysand comes to take Feyre away as promised to keep the end of his bargain. At first, everything is the same until Feyre is forced to make a choice that changes everything. Also there’s a big war coming. How will she handle everything?

A Court of Mist and Fury is a retelling of Persephone and Hades and it was so perfectly done. I enjoyed the plot so much. I’m so glad I was team Rhysand from book 1, I did like Tamlin but that was it, I didn’t feel anything more for that guy plus he didn’t do much back when Feyre was treated like crap and given so many challenges to perform by Amarantha and after seeing how he treated Feyre in this book like she was pet or something, I wanted to strangle him myself! Nonetheless, so freaking many new details were exposed in this book that simply left me in awe. And can we talk about Rhysand, how completely flawed yet perfect his character is! And when I learnt about his full backstory, I was quite surprised because I was definitely not expecting that but oh well it was pretty awesome nonetheless!

“He thinks he’ll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.”

-Feyre

I loved Feyre. Although she was broken and didn’t know how she was supposed to move on but with the help of Rhysand she slowly started the healing process. I’m so glad she stood up for herself and decided to do what she thought was right. The chemistry between Rhysand and Feyre was undeniable! And the romance… it was perfect. Just perfect! I just loved these two so much!

“To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
Rhys clinked his glass against mine. “To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

There were some new characters introduced who belonged to the Night Court. I adored Mor, she was so awesome and a great friend, she made Feyre feel like she was family from the very beginning. Azriel and Cassian were two unique and great characters. Last but not the least- Amren, I was confused about what to feel about her and hontsly, she scared me a bit at first but then I understood, she is as trustworthy as anyone can be.

Overall, A Court of Mist and Fury was a fantastic read! I loved how the plot was executed though I did feel the middle portion was a bit draggy. Nonetheless the characters definitely made up for it because they were pretty awesome! The chemistry and the romance between Rhysand and Feyre was amazing, The writing was beautiful and addictive as always and the pace was even throughout the book. The last portion of the book was so awesome and I could barely breath as I breezed through it! I really, really can’t wait for the next book and I don’t have a freaking clue about how I’m going to survive till then!

Recommend it?

Duh. Yes!


So guys, what did you feel about this book? What did you love the most about it? Have you read this book yet? Or are you still waiting for it? Share your thoughts with me!

8 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I used to be Team Tamlin but after reading this I switched to Rhysand’s side. Rhysand deserves Feyre more than Tamlin. I felt a bit sad seeing Tamlin like that you know what I mean. He’s totally gone mad and obsessive. I’m dying to know what’s gonna happen next. Beauty and the Beast, Hades and the persephone are my favorite retellings and I’m so excited to know what’s the next retelling going to be. Great Review btw! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: June 2016!
  3. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!
  4. Pingback: Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas || An Epic tale of politics, intrigue and romance |

Leave a Reply

