Review: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh || Blog Tour + Giveaway!

975d31e6-baa0-4e3b-b2fa-cb0ccf60c8a6

Welcome to my tour stop of Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh hosted by The Fantastic Flying Book Club. You can find the full tour schedule here.


Title: Ivory and Bone

Author: Julie Eshbaugh

Series: Ivory and Bone, book 1

Genre: Prehistorical, Fantasy, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 384 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: June 14th 2016 by HarperTeen

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher for this blog tour in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

A prehistoric fantasy—with allusions to Pride and Prejudice.

Hunting, gathering, and keeping his family safe—that’s the life seventeen-year-old Kol knows. Then bold, enigmatic Mya arrives from the south with her family, and Kol is captivated. He wants her to like and trust him, but any hopes of impressing her are ruined when he makes a careless—and nearly grave—mistake. However, there’s something more to Mya’s cool disdain…a history wrought with loss that comes to light when another clan arrives. With them is Lo, an enemy from Mya’s past who Mya swears has ulterior motives.

As Kol gets to know Lo, tensions between Mya and Lo escalate until violence erupts. Faced with shattering losses, Kol is forced to question every person he’s trusted. One thing is for sure: this was a war that Mya or Lo—Kol doesn’t know which—had been planning all along.


PicsArt_1443945753901

This was a very different and unique read and it made me want to want Ice Age! (And then I kind of watched it…)

Kol is an part of the clan where their most important job is to hunt for food. Along with that their mind plagues of the fear of their future because there’s hardly any female left in their clan. When the leader of the Olen clan comes to visit them along with his two sisters, hope surges in their heart but will the violent history of these two clans allow anything to happen together? And along with that when new dangers arise, how will they deal with it?

I enjoyed the plot, I was curious about Kol’s story from the beginning and I was invested till the very end. But one thing I can say for sure, that this book might be a hit or miss among the readers and fortunately for me, it was the former. Kol’s clan mainly depends on mammoth as their food. And it really made a think a lot about Ice Age because this story takes place during that time as well. I really enjoyed learning their way of living and how they survived in the open. The Olen clan brought an interesting factor and I liked the suspense created about the history between these two clans and how they became enemies.

I pretty much liked the character development that took place throughout the book. Kol was a great character, although he fairly misunderstood Mya and her motifs in the beginning. But that was definitely not his fault because there’s was a mystery surrounding Mya’s character and she came off as rude and stubborn in the beginning. I also liked how the plot changed course due to Lo’s character, it was an interesting aspect to read about. I loved the family aspect of this book as well. But there was not much fantasy element in this book and neither much romance though it didn’t bother me much.

Overall, Ivory and Bone was a good read. The plot and the characters kept me interested from the beginning and the writing was a bit different but smooth. The pace was slow in the beginning and it picked it’s pace towards the end. I’m definitely interested in reading the next book in this series.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Author Bio:

JulieJulie Eshbaugh is the author of the upcoming Ivory and Bone (HarperCollins, 2016). She used to have trouble staying in one spot, having lived in places as varied as Utah, France, and New York City. Julie eventually returned home to the Philadelphia area, where she now lives with her husband, son, cat and dog. Her favorite moments are when the unexpected happens and she cheers loudest when the pitcher gets a hit.

Author Links:

Website || Goodreads || Twitter || Pinterest || Instagram

Purchase Links:

Goodreads || Amazon || B&N || Bookdepository || iTunes || Kobo


Giveaway!

Win a pre-order of IVORY AND BONE by Julie Eshbaugh (INT)
Win a pre-order of IVORY AND BONE by Julie Eshbaugh (US Only)

*The international prize will be gifted through Bookdepository while the US Only pre-order will be gifted through amazon.com. So make sure you can receive the copy before entering the giveaway.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Check out the details & prizes here.

14 thoughts on “Review: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh || Blog Tour + Giveaway!

  1. I don’t think I’ve read any books set in this time period (and I haven’t seen Ice Age), but it certainly does sound unique! And I’m sorry to hear it was a tad slow in the beginning. I’m currently reading Risuko which is an Asian historical fiction read and I’m really struggling with the slow pace. Hopefully, like Ivory and Bone, it’ll pick up. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To be honest, I wasn’t too sure about this book at first, and I’ll admit that I overlooked it because I didn’t think that it would be something that I would enjoy. Now I’m a little curious, especially because of the reference to Pride & Prejudice.

    I’m really glad you liked it. I’m glad that you mentioned there’s not a lot of fantasy in it because too much fantasy can scare me. I think that it might be a good book for me to ease my way into the fantasy genre.

    Great review, Poulami! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: June 2016!
  4. Pingback: Review: Obsidian and Stars by Julie Eshbaugh || A satisfying conclusion || Blog Tour |

Leave a Reply

