Review: Lessons of the Heart by Jodie Larson

Title: Lessons of the Heart

Author: Jodie Larson

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 315 pages, Ebook

Published: March 12th 2016 by Jodie Larson

Source: I received an eARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558655390


Blurb (from Goodreads):

The first time we met, James Dumont knocked me off my feet.

He’s sexy and smart, the classic good guy…. Exactly what I want, and everything I’ve ever dreamed of. The most perfect guy at Somerset High School.

He even makes sixth-period Geography interesting.

Everyone says high school is tough. Fighting my attraction to James? That’s the hardest part, because this guy, my perfect match, the one who makes my heart overrule my head…

He’s my teacher.

What if the greatest lesson you could learn in school couldn’t be found in a book?


PicsArt_1443945753901

This book… I don’t know. I thought I was going to love this but unfortunately it turned out to be very different.

Britta and James are immediately attracted to one another when they meet for the first time at the teacher’s common room in their high school. Britta thinks he’s a new student and James the opposite. Later when they both learn about the truth, they know anything between them is impossible but they can both fight off the attraction or will they risk losing their reputation?

My first reason for picking this up was because of the forbidden romance which I absolutely love if well executed but in this case, it unfortunately wasn’t. I enjoy the angst the most in a forbidden romance story and in this book, it was somehow missing due to which I felt the lack of chemistry between the two main characters. Their romance was sweet, but too sweet at times and the dialogues were definitely too cheesy which were too much for my taste. Things were a bit too fairy tail-ish rather than realistic.

Both Britta and James were okay character but they were definitely not mature for their age. Though James was her teacher, the age difference didn’t matter much, it was only a mere 5 years difference but they didn’t have any urge to control. I mean if they really felt and cared so much for each other, they could have tried waiting for a bit because the wait wouldn’t have been for too long because Britta was graduating soon. When one of them was trying, the other one was seducing and this process kind of became repetitive after a bit. They really didn’t think much of the consequence and that’s why the Chase thing happened. Though I did like the ending.

Overall, Lessons of the Heart was an okay read. I didn’t like the plot much nor did I care much for the characters. The romance was too cheesy for my taste. The writing was okay and easy to read though the dialogues were a bit too much. The pace was even throughout the book. Sadly, I didn’t enjoy this book much as I thought I would.

Recommend it?

No.


So guys, what do you think about this book? Do you want to read it? Share your thoughts with me!

3 thoughts on “Review: Lessons of the Heart by Jodie Larson

  1. Too sweet, and too cheesy romance are not my thing either. This book is already in my tbr and I’ve seen many readers have the same issues as you so It’s definitely going out of my tbr. Great Review btw! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: June 2016!

Leave a Reply

