Review: Supremacy by Christin Lee

Title: Supremacy

Author: Christin Lee

Series: Supremacy, book 1

Genre: Urban fantasy. Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 330 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: June 3rd 2016

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558655390


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Kate Parker, is a 17 year old senior living in Texas. She’s on the swim team, has two incredible best friends, and a passion for saving animals. She falls hard when she meets a mysterious and fascinating guy named Lucas. He has a sexy accent and a killer smile. However, she sees unexplained pain and anger in his dark brown eyes. He claims he’s a foreign exchange student from Spain who is attending the local University—Kate knows there’s more to his story than that. She works hard to discover who he is—what he is.


PicsArt_1443945753901

I did like this story however there was something because of which I couldn’t enjoy it wholeheartedly.

Kate Parker is a 17 year old who has the ability to remember everything once she reads, sees or hears anything. She’s an animal lover and she rescues them whoever needs help. Everything in her life is pretty much normal until she meets Lucas. They are both drawn to each other but there’s something is that preventing Lucas from fully opening up to her. When she discovers the truth it changes her whole world but behind that lies another devastating truth. What will she do when she finally learns about that?

I enjoyed the plot. However, it was the execution that felt kind of flat for me. Kate loved her life, her friends, her brothers and her parents. She had the ability to remember everything her whole life and she enjoyed being smart. I didn’t like her parents much, I know parents are protective about their children and they constantly worry about them all the time, I know mine do that aaaall the time but her parents, especially her father was downright overprotective and rude and that irritated me so much! If he could, he would have locked her in her room her whole life. Shea and Stephen were her two best friends. Whereas I loved Shea, I really hated Lucas from the start even after he apologized for that particular incident.

Lucas and Kate forms an instant connection when they meet, though there was a case of insta-love, it didn’t bother me much. Kate knows there’s something different about Lucas and she discovers his real identity it without much difficulty. I would have loved if there was a bit of suspense about this fact. I liked Kate, she was fun and a good character but I didn’t connect much with Lucas. He had serious anger issues, I mean the way he was trained it was natural but I didn’t like the fact that he could loose control over her friends, even Kate. Kate took some really stupid decisions towards the end I felt there was too much info-dumping and the story kind of felt draggy throughout the book due to which I lost interest pretty fast.

Overall, Supremacy was an okay read. The plot was good but I couldn’t connect with the characters much. The ending didn’t have a cliffhanger but it was kind  of abrupt. Nonetheless, the writing was smooth and easy to read.

Recommend it?

Maybe.


So guys, what do you think about this book? Share your thoughts with me!

12 thoughts on “Review: Supremacy by Christin Lee

  1. I just finished reading this too and while I liked it a little more than you did, I can’t help but agree with you on a lot of those points. I must say I do have a soft spot for Lucas – I think it’s the motorbike lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you read the Shadow Falls series, Poulami? Because the plot sort of reminds me of Shadow Falls and I really enjoyed how that one was done. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t like this that much though. Maybe give Shadow Falls a try! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- May 2016!
  4. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website
    yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from.
    kudos

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided
    to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break.

    I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, fantastic blog!

    Like

  6. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?

    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a
    difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

Leave a Reply

