Review: Memories of a Broken Girl by Harley Maye || Plus Interview & Giveaway!

Title: Memories of a Broken Girl

Author: Harley Maye

Series: Memories Series, book 1 [Can be read as a standalone]

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 208 pages, Ebook

Published: April 21st 2016

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558321867


Blurb (from Goodreads):

What happens when a wedding planner no longer believes true love exists?

Laney McAdams is Austin’s rising star of wedding planners, and from the outside she looks like the perfect good girl. But when faced with the ultimate deception, her world comes crashing down around her, leaving her alone, afraid, and tormented by dark secrets and regrets.

Bodie Brooks is successful, dangerously good looking, and battling his own painful past. Having just returned to Austin, he’s hiding his own secret about the real reason for coming home. When their paths collide, he awakens her deepest longings, convincing Laney he is nothing but dangerous.

He’s always been unattainable and gorgeous.
She’s broken into a million pieces.

But after one afternoon of uncontainable passion, Laney is forced to decide if she will do what she promised she would never do again.


PicsArt_1443945753901

You know you have a feeling that you’re going to love a particular book from the very first page. This book was that for me. If I had to say one word to describe this book, I would say perfection. I can’t believe that this is a debut novel because this book literally blew me away! It was sooo so good, I can’t even begin to say. And it was exactly what I needed, I simply fell in love with this book and it’s already made its way to my favourites list!

Laney is a wedding planner but she doesn’t believe in love anymore after she caught her fiance cheating on her. Callie, her best friend is her only support. Meanwhile  Bodie, Callie’s brother comes back to town. Callie always had feelings for him but when he got married and went away, she put that love behind and moved on but when she sees Bodie again she realises that feeling never really went away. Bodie has no one in his life after his wife’s death and they realise they both need each other. Can she really confess her feelings this time or will she let this chance get away once again?

The plot was so great and realistic! Laney was so invested in her relationship that she began to forget herself in the process. After she caught her fiance cheating on her, it was hard on her, she decided to stay away from love it but after Bodie arrives back in town, she finds it hard to stay away from him, all the repressed feelings for him comes back. The angst was absolutely perfect. They both wanted each other yet they couldn’t admit the fact at first. The plot was executed really well. I completely loved the romance, it was so, sooo good! Laney and Bodie were absolutely perfect together! Also a lot of truth comes out when they talk about the past and I was like holy shit but I loved how they processed everything and handled that fact. 🙂

The plot complication happened when Laney’s fiance wanted her back in his life. Although she’s over him but if Bodie was not in the picture there was a chance she might have gone back to him. So, naturally Bodie wanted that surety. I loved the fact he challenged Laney and made her much better. Actually, they both brought out the best in each other. It was so great to see them both grow as a person as well as a couple throughout the book. And that ending… *swoons*

Overall, Memories of a Broken Girl was a great read! The plot was executed neatly and I fell in love with the characters! The writing was beautiful and the pace was even throughout the book. This book kept me interested from the very first page and I finished it in one sitting! I’m really looking forward to read the next book in this series!

Recommend it?

Absolutely freaking YES!
Give this book a try, you are not going to regret it!


Interview!

I had the chance to interview the author, hope you guys enjoy it!

Hey there! I’m so glad to have you on my little blog today!

I’m super excited to be here! Thank you for having me.

1. How did the idea of Memories of a Broken Girl come to your mind?

How lucky am I to say that Bodie came to me in a dream? And, let me tell you, he was just as amazing and steamy. He stirred around in my thoughts for a long time before I finally sat down to write his and Laney’s story.

2. Which authors inspire you?

Oh gosh, where to begin! There are so many amazing authors out there who write beautifully, and I definitely geek out over their wordcraft and creativity. My most favorite author of all time is Shakespeare (he even has a cameo quote in Memories of a Broken Girl). As a NA and contemporary romance writer, I’ve been influenced by Molly McAdams, Ilsa Madden-Mills, Brittainy C. Cherry, Jamie McGuire…oh gosh, I could just go on and on. Jamie McGuire has also been a huge inspiration for my authorship. She has an amazing section for writers on her website.

3. Tell us a bit about your writing process.

Once I have an idea in my head, I draw out a timeline with my plot ideas and scenes, and then the writing takes over from there. Most of the timeline will change as the characters develop, but I do try to see the original integrity of the story through to the end.

4. I absolutely loved Laney and Bodie. They were both amazing characters. Were they particularly inspired by someone?

I’m so glad that you loved Laney and Bodie! While some of the experiences, and the places they visited in the story, were inspired by things I’ve seen and places around Austin, neither character was inspired by anyone in particular. However, Laney’s best friend, Callie, was loosely inspired by my very dear friend Crystal Cook, of The Casserole Queens, and some of our crazy conversations in her catering kitchen.

5. What was the hardest thing that you faced while writing this book?

This was my debut, so I learned a lot about writing as I went, and that was the most challenging aspect. My amazing editor, Jovana Shirley, really gave me some fantastic guidance in that department. Other than that, the ending took me several versions before finally settling on one. I really wanted these two to find an amazing happiness together and I think they pulled it off at the end.

6. Do you prefer absolute silence while writing or do you have a playlist? If yes, do mind sharing a few songs?

Oh no, music is a MUST. We always have music playing in our home. I’ve always thought the song “Clementine” by Sarah Jaffe is the perfect theme to Memories of a Broken Girl. I also love listening to a lot of Florence and The Machine (think “What Kind of Man”) while writing, and “A Thousand Years” by Christina Perri was one of the first songs to inspire the bond between Laney and Bodie.

7. What do you have in mind for your next project?

Memories of A Guilty Girl is the second book in the Memories Series and will release during the holiday break! I’m so excited to follow Addy Cooper (who we met at the end of Broken Girl), as she moves away from Austin to try to start over again in a small town after a devastating mistake. There she is thrown into the torrent of the equally injured but beautiful Grady, and both their lives will shift forever. It’s a little darker than Broken Girl in the beginning, but as wonderfully risqué. I can’t give anymore away than that.

8. What is your advice for aspiring writers?

Write what you love, and write a lot of it. As an indie author, do your research to source out a great editor and support group to help you succeed with your goals. The Indie Author community is amazingly supportive, and there is a lot of wonderful literature out there to help direct aspiring writers. Stick to your plan, take one day at a time, and before you know it, you’ll be published!


Giveaway!

3 ebooks of Memories of a Broken Girl by Harley Maye.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


So guys, what did you think about this book? Do you want to read it? Share your thoughts with me!

7 thoughts on “Review: Memories of a Broken Girl by Harley Maye || Plus Interview & Giveaway!

  1. So glad you really loved this one! I’m going to take a break form new adult after my experience with Unteachable but this one sounds really interesting. I haven’t had a protagonist that has been a wedding planner. And her dilemma with love ties in so well her character it seems. Brilliant review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t heard about this book but it sounds pretty nice! I wish I could give this a try now but I already have a huge tbr so this has to wait. Anyway, I’m glad you loved it! Great Review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- May 2016!

Leave a Reply

