Review: Chased (Part 1 & 2) by Piper Lawson || Plus Interview!

 

Title: Chased (Part 1 & 2)

Author: Piper Lawson

Series: Chased

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Pretty warm

Page Count and Format: 130 pages + 137 pages, Ebook

Published: April 29th 2016

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Being a twenty-one-year-old screw-up has its perks. I can sleepwalk through class, drink all day and nail anything that walks.

Easy f#$%*ing peasy.

Sure, I used to be the fastest guy at Fielding College. I’ve broken more track records than anyone on the West Coast. But my life as an athlete feels like a different universe. A different Chase Owens.

Since my world fell apart last year, all I want is to be left the hell alone.

Ariel Hastings isn’t just a wrench in that plan, she’s a bomb. The quiet girl shows up out of nowhere and suddenly our fates are tied together. She wants to run with me, learn from me, even live with me…

Basically everything but f*ck me.

Now I’m spending too much time around her. I’m craving something she won’t give me and I sure as hell can’t ask for.

Because we’ve both got pasts that aren’t ready to let go. Even if I can survive hers, I know we can’t outrun mine.


PicsArt_1443945753901

This series was pretty damn awesome! I absolutely loved Chased, everything was so freaking good! The plot, the characters, everything, I don’t have a single complaint. I enjoyed this hell of a ride!

Chase had a troubled past, he doesn’t let people in easily. After an incident he drops from his racing team and his only chance at getting back in the team is to train Ariel Hastings. Reluctant at first, he finally agrees. The more he spends time with him, he becomes enamored with her and the feelings start to seem quite mutual until his past starts to haunt him back. Will he fight back or run away and risk loosing everything he has, including Ariel?

At first, I’m going to talk about Part 1. I loved Chase from the beginning. Even with a hard exterior, the guy really cared for the people he loved. I loved their passion for running and that they would do anything rectify their mistakes. They were both flawed and intense characters and I enjoyed reading both their POVs. The slow burning build up between Ariel and Chase was really great. Their chemistry was awesome and I freaking loved the romance between them. There’s also a little bit of mystery aspect in the book which is more explored in part 2.

ChasedGraphic3

Part 2 picked up from where part 1 left off. The plot kept me hooked. The relationship between Chase and Ariel are more explored in this part which I loved. Some family aspects were put into the mix as well which played an important part later, nonetheless I ended up loving Drew, Chase’s small brother. All the side characters were pretty amazing as well. The mystery part was handled really well and I loved how everything was executed. 

Overall, Chased was a fantastic read! Piper’s books keeps getting better and better, she’s definitely an author to watch out for! The plot was neatly executed and the I loved the characters. I also loved the undeniable chemistry between Chase and Ariel! The writing was smooth and easy to read and it was fast paced throughout both the parts. I really enjoyed reading this one!

Recommend it?

Yes!


Now, here’s some fun Interview Q&A with the author herself!

Welcome to my little blog! I’m so glad to have you here today!

Thank you for having me! I’m delighted to be here.

1. Chased was originally meant to be written as a 4 part novella. What made you change your decision and transform it into a two part novel?

Great question. Chase and Ariel’s story changed quite a bit from how I’d first conceived it. As my beta readers can attest, my first draft of part 1 was about half as long as the final part 1 and it was solely from Chase’s POV. When I got deeper into their story, I wanted to hear from Ariel too! So, the story that’s just been released is two (longer) parts. Readers have been asking whether there will be more parts – we’ll have to wait and see 🙂

2. What was the hardest thing that you faced while writing this book?

I think that when you’re writing romance, it’s hard to walk the line between telling ‘his’ story or ‘her’ story and telling ‘their’ story. Chased is more focused on Chase than Ariel, but it was important to me that she wasn’t just stuck on the sidelines. That’s part of the reason I ended up giving her voice (which was a big decision!).

3. Was your main protagonist Chase inspired by anyone in particular?

Nope. But, I think there are a lot of people who doubt themselves – either because of where they come from, or what they’ve done in the past. Chase is inspired by those people, and the ones who manage to overcome themselves and everything they’ve been through. The story’s also a tribute to the people that help – the Ariels, Tors, Amoses, and maybe even the Tesses.

4. What’s your dream cast for Chased?

Hrm – still working on this! If you really wanna know I need another couple days 🙂

5. Overall, what is the thing that you enjoy most about writing?

I love when I start to feel like I know the characters well enough that they’re telling me their story instead of me crafting it. That’s the best feeling in the world.

6. What do you have in mind for your next project? Because I’m dying to know…

Glad you asked! Right now I’m getting ready to release a steamy, funny contemporary romance called PLAY (pre-order will be up soon, follow me on twitter @piperjlawson or sign up for my newsletter!). It’s about a video game developer. I’m all about the nerds right now. After that…you might see more from the Travesty series this fall…wink wink

7. Any advice for aspiring writers?

First, DO IT! 🙂 and yes, reading tons and tons of romance novels is a totally legit resume to get into writing romance. With that said, my second piece of advice is: work on your craft. Read books on writing (novels, screenplays), use tools, talk to other authors. The indie romance community is ah-mazing for being collaborative and helping one another! It’s an awesome hobby, or career, and way to meet fabulous life-long friends.


So guys, hope you enjoyed the interview! Have you read Chased yet? How’s your experience so far? Or are you waiting to read it? Share your thoughts with me!

5 thoughts on “Review: Chased (Part 1 & 2) by Piper Lawson || Plus Interview!

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- May 2016!

Leave a Reply

