Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Title: The Star-Touched Queen

Author: Roshani Chokshi

Standalone

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Retelling, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 352 pages, Ebook

Published: April 26th 2016 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Cursed with a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, sixteen-year-old Maya has only earned the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her world is upheaved when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. But when her wedding takes a fatal turn, Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Yet neither roles are what she expected. As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds friendship and warmth.

But Akaran has its own secrets – thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Beneath Akaran’s magic, Maya begins to suspect her life is in danger. When she ignores Amar’s plea for patience, her discoveries put more than new love at risk – it threatens the balance of all realms, human and Otherworldly.

Now, Maya must confront a secret that spans reincarnated lives and fight her way through the dangerous underbelly of the Otherworld if she wants to protect the people she loves.


PicsArt_1443945753901

This book was really, really good. The Star-Touched Queen is inspired by Indian mythology so yup, of course being an Indian I wanted to read this so badly! And I was ecstatic when my request was approved in Netgalley.  I’m glad I got to read this book because I enjoyed this hell of a ride!

Maya is cursed with a horoscope that has spread fear in everybody’s mind in her kingdom. Everyone tries to keep their distance from her. But her father, the king arranges her marriage despite her reluctance but what he tells her to do is next to unimaginable. Despite everything she agrees but on the day of her marriage when a war break out Amar, the king of Akaran saves her. From there begins a new journey. Maya finds herself slowly falling for him but she understands that he is keeping deep secrets that he’s unwilling to share. Despite his warnings, Maya is keen to unravel his secrets which unleashes chaos. Will she be able to save herself or will she destroy everyone in the process?

The plot, the concept, everything was really intriguing. Though the starting is a bit slow, nonetheless it picks up its pace soon enough. I loved the world-building and how everything was so elaborately described. There is not a dull moment in this book. The concept of Akaran was literally awesome. Like Maya, I didn’t really think of it first but when it was finally revealed, it was a big OMG moment! Amar was really an interesting as well as a mysterious character. I wanted to know more about him as I read the book. I really liked Maya and Amar together and their chemistry was really great. However, there is a bit of insta-love thingy but it didn’t bother me much, especially after we got to know the truth.

I liked Maya’s character, she was a curious and a brave person but she made a lot of stupid decisions at the beginning. . But I liked her character development throughout the book. She grew more brave and bold and I liked how she handled things maturely. There are a lot of interesting aspects in this book, there were even references from the Indian epics such as Mahabharata and Ramayana which was really awesome. I liked how all the terminologies were explained as I found most of them were in Hindi, I even found one or two Bengali terms. But I think there were too many references that needed more explanation, I was familiar with the terms and myths but I think a glossary or something like that would have been helpful for those who are totally unfamiliar with the Indian culture of the time during the reign of the kings.

Overall, The Star-Touched Queen was a great and an interesting read. The plot kept me hooked from the very first page and the characters were pretty intriguing. I liked the romance between Amar and Maya. I was really satisfied with how everything was executed. The writing was lyrical and beautiful. I couldn’t stop reading it. I look forward to read more from this author.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Sooo, guys have you read The Star-Touched Queen yet? What were your experience about this book? Did you love it or was it just meh for you? Or are you waiting to read this book? Share your thoughts with me!

27 thoughts on “Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

  1. I’m so, so glad you liked this book! I keep hearing about it, and I’m only reading good, and great reviews so far, it makes me want to add it to my TBR, despite me being not too familiar with the genre of fantasy and retelling, I do want to get more into it 🙂 Thank you so much for this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I NEED THIS ONE SO SO BAD. *shrieks* I have it on my list of to-buy next and afdjkslad I’m so so excited. There are so not enough YA books with Indian mythology out there!! (Or at least ones that are available in English, I guess??? I have no idea what things they publish in India of course.) AHEM.
    I’m a bit worried about the unexplained terminology though…because I fully confess I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT HINDU MYTHOLOGY. 😭 I hope it’s not too hard to follow for me.
    Also that cover = 😍 😍 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • There are more contemporary writers here so we don’t have much fantasy and stuff like these! *sad face* Nonetheless, I don’t think it will be much of a problem because most of them are explained well so yeah go for it! 🙂
      Exactly… that cover! ❤

      Like

  3. I’ve heard so many mixed reactions towards this books but I’m certainly going to give it a go since I haven’t read much Indian mythology aside from (The Tiger’s Curse and apparently that one isn’t very authentic or true). Thanks for sharing your review! I’m happy to hear you’re part of the group that loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- May 2016!
  5. Pingback: Review: A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi |

Leave a Reply

