Review: Claire by Abigail Strom

Title: Claire

Author: Abigail Strom

Series: Hart University, book 2 [Can be read as a standalone]

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 205 pages, Ebook

Published: April 26th 2016

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

It’s sophomore year, and Claire Stone has sworn off romance. She’s just gone through a breakup and she wants some time to find out who she is on her own. The only flaw in her plan is her friend (and hot quarterback) Will McKenna, who’s a walking temptation to forget all about her singlehood pledge.

Will has had a thing for Claire since freshman year. Now that they’re both single, he wants more from her than friendship. But Claire doesn’t want to be anyone’s girlfriend right now, and with football season underway, Will’s got issues of his own to deal with.

When an injury on the field changes everything, Will and Claire are driven apart. But when the two of them end up trapped together in a snowstorm, they’re forced to deal with each other again. Can they confront their feelings without ruining their friendship? Or will their friendship turn into something more?


PicsArt_1443945753901

This book was pretty awesome! It was exactly what I needed to lift my mood after going through a hell of a day. I loved the first book in this series, you can read my review of Rikki here. Rikki was about freshman year of college and Claire deals with the sophomore one!

Claire was too dependent on her boyfriend Ted but after they finally broke up she realized that fact and took a pledge to stay single for one semester and discover herself. But then there’s Will. He had always had a thing for Claire but when he wanted to make a move, Claire announced her pledge to her friends. But around Will she finds her resolution melting. But then something turns Will’s life upside down and they are driven apart. Can they overcome their difficulties and be there for one another or will it destroy their friendship forever?

I loved the plot and how everything was executed! Claire and Will formed a strong bond of friendship, though they both had feelings for one another, they respected the each other’s wish and were there for one another as a friend first. It was so great to see their friendship evolve through the course of time. When Claire got jealous when another girl was hitting on Will, it was seriously so cute and that jogging thing was so funny! If you know me, then you’ll know I love angst! Although the angst was not much like in the first book but it was nearly pretty damn perfect here! We also got to see the characters from the previous book, so that was a bonus!

I loved all the characters! Claire was such a sweet person, I liked her decision about her singlehood pledge to find her true self. But I did want to shake her a few times to see what she was missing! Nonetheless I respected her decision. Will… he was such a gentleman and a great guy! I loved how he was always there for her no matter what though things took a complete opposite turn after an incident happened. And I absolutely loved how Claire and all of their friends helped him to get him back in his track. And the romance… OMG… that was well kind of mind blowing! I’ll say no more, just read it and you’ll not regret it ever!

Overall, Claire was a great read. Though it was mostly light hearted, it handled a bit of heavy things as well. The plot kept me hooked and I fell in love with the characters. Everything was so nicely executed the end, it was simply perfect! The writing was beautiful and the pace was even throughout the story. I pretty much finished it in one setting. I cannot wait to read more of this series!

Recommend it?

Yes!


So guys, how many of you are excited to read this book? What are your expectations? Have you read the first book in this series yet? If yes, how was your experience? Share your thoughts with me!

7 thoughts on “Review: Claire by Abigail Strom

  1. OMG I JUST REALLY LOVE HOW THE BOOK GOES ❤ It's so intriguing. I'm somehow a fan of romance, and this one sounds exciting. I hope to read this real soon when I feel like it, though it is an NA novel — and I don't read NA's. I loved reading your review, and I'm glad you enjoyed it ❤

    Jillian @ Jillian’s Books

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- April 2016! – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

