Review: Romancing the Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

Title: Romancing the Nerd

Author: Leah Rae Miller

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 352 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: April 5th 2016 by Entangled: Teen

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558587481


Blurb(from Goodreads):

Dan Garrett has become exactly what he hates— popular. Until recently, he was just another live-action role-playing nerd on the lowest rung of the social ladder. Cue a massive growth spurt and an uncanny skill at taking three-point shots in basketball and voilà…Mr. Popular. It’s definitely weird.

And the biggest drawback? Going from high school zero to basketball hero cost Dan the secret girl of his dorky dreams.

A band geek with an eclectic fashion sense, Zelda Potts’s “coolness” stat is about minus forty-two. Dan turning his back on her and the rest of nerd-dom was brutal enough, but when he humiliates her at school, Zelda decides it’s time for a little revenge—dork style. Never mind that she used to have a crush on him. Never mind that her plan could backfire big time.

It’s time to roll the dice…and hope like freakin’ hell she doesn’t lose her heart in the process.


PicsArt_1443945753901

I had pretty high expectations for this book and I have been wanting to read it since I saw it on Goodreads. Although I enjoyed the ride but it was a bit of a disappointment as well as it didn’t live upto my expectations.

Dan used to be a nerd but after his growth spurt and his skills to play basketball, upped him into the popular crowd but he regrets all of it, especially because he thinks he has lost the one dorky girl he likes i.e. Zelda. Zelda used to have a crush on Dan, she feels betrayed after a certain incident and she finally decides it’s time for a little revenge. But how can her plan be successful when she finds herself falling for Dan all over again?

I love this kind of storyline, it’s one of my absolute favourites. But I felt one major factor was missing due to which I couldn’t enjoy this book entirely. Dan used to be a high school nerd but now he’s Mr. Popular and he doesn’t participate in the usual activities, like LARP-ing as he used to do. Zelda feels that the Dan has completely changed but little did she know the reason behind it. I was pretty exited about the revenge plot and it was indeed filled with geekiness which I absolutely loved. But I wanted to see the actual romance between Dan and Zelda which we rarely got to see, so that was a major setback for me.

I pretty much liked all the characters. Zelda is a no nonsense kind of girl and proud of being a geek. I understood where Dan was coming from and why he took himself out of the stuff he actually liked doing and I absolutely loved it when he stood up for himself and how he handled the situation. We get to see the characters from the previous book as well, although I haven’t read it but I liked them nonetheless. Dan’s sister was pretty much awsome!

Overall, Romancing the Nerd was a good read. Although the plot was clichéd, I liked how it flowed out but I really would have liked this book more if it had some actual romance in it. I think it kinds of defeats the purpose of the title. Nonetheless, the writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the book. I easily finished this book in a few sittings.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So… how many of you are exited about this book? Although both of the books in this series can be read as a standalone but still, have you read the previous book yet? If yes, then what did you think about it? Share your thoughts with me!

9 thoughts on “Review: Romancing the Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

  1. I haven’t heard of this one before! Which doesn’t surprise me since I tend to run in the dragon bookish circles…ahem. BUT YEAH. That seems weird that there wasn’t a lot of romance!? And cliche plots are always a downer. 😦 Gah, to this disappointing little creature for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 🙂
      Well, I’m glad that you asked. My rating depends on a lot of factors, for example- the originality of the plot, how well it was executed, how much I loved the characters or were there any special factors or tropes that I like or dislike. And lastly the overall enjoyment factor! That’s it! 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly March 2016! – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

